Weekend Recap

I can’t believe it’s Monday already. At least I am not at work; but with all that I have planned for today I might as well be working.

I am embarrassed to say this, but Greg and I have eaten nearly half a bag of Skittles. No big deal you think? Well, the bag was holding about FOUR POUNDS of Skittles. We bought it at Costco’s. It was only $2.97!! And with my semi-constant desire for Skittles, we couldn’t pass up the offier. I am hoping that by the time the bag is empty (Porbably before the end of the week) that I will no longer want to look at another Skittle.

Moving on (as I drop about five Skittles in my mouth), Saturday was pretty uneventful and Sunday was just as lazy. Amelia and I even took a nap that was about an hour and a half long! These last 4 days I’ve been so tired even though I’ve slept well. I don’t feel like I’m coming down with something. Eh, who knows. Anyway, once Amelia and I were up we started packing her things for the Ralston Social Club and began our Quest for the Cooler. We tried Walgreens first but they don’t sell them year round apparently, so it was off to Target. We found our cooler but it was busted and so was the other one next to it and there were only 2 coolers of that size to choose from. Damn. So we went with a smaller cooler that couldn’t even hold my 24oz bottle of Pepsi.

It was about 3pm by the time Greg and I made it to Tim and Brookes place and we were the first ones to arrive even though we were about an hour late. When we arrived we were told that this RSC was going to be the best due to a special guest from Chicago who cooked the most amazing ribs with homemade bbq sause and two whole chickens on the grill. Oh.My.God. were they freaking amazing. I don’t know what this guy does for a living but I hope it involves cooking because he has some serious talent. Of course there are pictures on Flickr (which I recently realized that my RSS Feed for Flickr isn’t updating as I upload more pictures). Greg and I had a great time. Amelia was the attention getter as usual. And she was more vocal which made everyone ooohhh and aaaahhh over her. Of course the weather couldn’t have been any more perfect! Greg and I left around 7pm and were home before 8. Amelia feel asleep in the car and hardly woke when we brought her home and she remained asleep for the rest of the night. She was one tired girl!

Once we were in and unpacked, I uploaded the photos and tried to play a little more with Photoshop but it keeps locking up on me. So I called it a night with the computer and Greg and I watched Field of Dreams together. I’ve never seen the movie and it’s one of his favorites. Makes him cry everytime.

When we went to bed, I was still pretty awake so Greg and I talked for a little while. We talked about our goals (as usual) and I inquierd about his time line about his next 3 big purchases (laptop for me, engagement ring, and new camera) and when he hopes to have them completed. I was surprised that he is planning on having all three by May of 2008 and in that order. I told him that he can hold off on the laptop since I don’t need to borrow Sean’s anymore and that was the only reason I was wanting one (and now that Greg and I are living together I don’t really I need the laptop since he has a pretty nice desktop). His rebuttle is that I’ve already contributed to the laptop by paying off some of his Dell bill. I told him that is something that I am contributing to lower our debt and improve our chances of getting a home in a couple years, which is more important than a laptop. Greg then says I am too good to him because I want to help pay off his bills (things he bought before he and I started dating). No biggie for me since I know he would do the same, which he has. So, that leaves the engagement ring and his camera. He was telling me that he is planning on spending at least $2K on a ring! I told him that was insane and that I don’t need a stone that big. His reply was that this ring has to be the best ever since our relationship is so different than his past relationships and he wants to show how much I mean to him by buying the best possible ring out there. I told him that I don’t need to show off how much he loves me and that I want to be able to wear the ring out in public (because if the ring is too big that I would fear loosing it, breaking it, etc). I would be happy with the size of one carat, nothing bigger. He said “we’ll see”.

Next we talking about where to go this fall since we kinda missed out the summer with all the moving and whatnot. We talked about going to PA for a nice day trip. We talked about going to Hagerstown again and this time visit my friend Michele and possibly take the Steam Train dinner tour thingy that we talked about doing last year; we talked about doing a impromptu trip to Delaware for our first trip to Sonic. We have a lot planned for this Fall.

Also, I received my court papers in the mail. Looks like everything is correct and now Greg just has to take them to the post office and send them via certified mail to Adam for me. I am debating if I should tell Adam that I am mailing them or not. About a month ago he sent me an email asking for our address when we lived in Baltimore and Glen Burnie. He needed them for a background check. I debated if I should help him or not since he hasn’t really helped me with the divorce and the costs associated with the divorce, which he awknowledged in the email. I ended up giving him the information and haven’t heard from him since. Which is all fine and good but I think I am being too nice to him whereas it seems he’s blowing my needs off. Well, that pretty much tells me that I am not going to tell him that I am mailing the letter.

Today, Greg and I have a lot of little things to do. First is to take the trash out! Secondly, we have to run to the grocery store and get more formula for Amelia and some lunch meat, then we are going to do a ‘dry run’ to the new sitter so I know how to get there, and then clean our bedroom since we have SO MUCH laundry (clean) to put away. I’ve already begun to clean the bedroom (washing the sheets and whatnot) and I’ve cleaned the kitchen and have a nice roast in the crockpot.  All this and it’s not even 11am.

Ok, well Amelia is up from her nap and I’m going to get to the cleaning of the bedroom…

4 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. Do you want to be surprised by your ring? As far as style and what not?

    You’ll have to explain to me this Social club thing you go to. I’ve never heard of it.

    Glad you’re having a great weekend!

  2. Do you want to be surprised by your ring? As far as style and what not?

    You’ll have to explain to me this Social club thing you go to. I’ve never heard of it.

    Glad you’re having a great weekend!

  3. I do want the ring to be a surprise but at the same time I am dying to know what he’s been looking at.

    The Ralston Social Club is something that Tim and Brooke, co-workers of Greg, started in May. Basically, everyone (co-workers and friends) heads over to Tim and Brookes place the first Sunday of each month where we grill, play some yard games, and just hang out until when ever. It’s not a club per sa, but a monthly get together. Greg and I have missed a few get togethers, but generally go each month.

  4. I do want the ring to be a surprise but at the same time I am dying to know what he’s been looking at.

    The Ralston Social Club is something that Tim and Brooke, co-workers of Greg, started in May. Basically, everyone (co-workers and friends) heads over to Tim and Brookes place the first Sunday of each month where we grill, play some yard games, and just hang out until when ever. It’s not a club per sa, but a monthly get together. Greg and I have missed a few get togethers, but generally go each month.

Leave a Reply

