X-Family

I called Adam’s Mom earlier tonight. The whole purpose of the call was to see if she had Adam’s phone number so I could call him, rather than email or mail him, about the divorce papers and that because he is so incredibly stupidhe signed the wrong page (on the ORIGINAL, FORMAL COURT, papers).

I ended talking to Adam’s Mom for a little over a half hour. That last time we talked was in February.

We, or I, caught up on family members. Ryan, Adam’s youngest sibiling, has moved to Millersville and is living with his girlfriend. Casey, Adam’s sister, is still living at home and still recovering from her accident back in 2002 or 2003 (she really messed up her leg). Eban, Casey’s son and Adam’s only nephew, is turning eight years old next week.

Now, to give a little history of the events from last year and what I learned tonight, Adam’s grandad and father died within three months of each other. Adam took it really hard. I went to Adam’s grandad’s funeral (honestly, because I loved his grandparents) but didn’t go to his dad’s funeral (didn’t like his dad). Everyone on Adam’s dad side of the family has stopped communicating with Adam’s Mom and everyone else after the funeral. That is really pathetic. Adam’s Mom and Dad were married for nearly 35 years; Adam and one of his cousins were born on the exact same day and year (how rare is that), and now that whole side of the family is ignoring everyone on ‘the other side’, basically anyone who isn’t directly blood related. Personally, I never liked that side of the family aside from the grandparents. They were to inclusive of ‘us’ and didn’t try very hard to make us feel welcome at any family events. Adam’s Mom side of the family are true Irish people and love get togethers and are very welcoming and make you feel right at home (although there was one uncle and aunt that I didn’t get along with).

It was weird talking to Adam’s Mom. I’ve been thinking about calling many times over the last few months but thought that it would be weird. I mean, I’m sure she’s aware that Adam and I are or have divorced and such even though the two times we’ve talked this year, divorce wasn’t brought up.

Of all the people in Adam’s family, it’s his Mom that I feel bad for. She’s not getting the support she needs (on all levels). She’s working two jobs trying to make ends meet and her immediate family (the kids) aren’t helping her (even though Casey lives at home with her). It’s sad, sorta. If there were a way I could help her, and her only, I would. Maybe I will send a gift card or something to her this holiday.

4 thoughts on “X-Family

  1. I think it’s great you can still talk to your ex’s mom. It’s obvious you care about her. I’m sure a gift card, or just a card from you would be really appreciated by her. Sounds like she is having a rough time of it.

    Good luck getting Adam, who sounds like a moron, btw, to sign the right paperwork!! Fingers crossed for you.

  2. I think it’s great you can still talk to your ex’s mom. It’s obvious you care about her. I’m sure a gift card, or just a card from you would be really appreciated by her. Sounds like she is having a rough time of it.

    Good luck getting Adam, who sounds like a moron, btw, to sign the right paperwork!! Fingers crossed for you.

  3. Adam’s Mom has always been the back bone for her family (Adam’s borther and sister and Dad). She did every little thing for them and it really pissed me off. Granted, the kids helped out some of the times, but the father didn’t. I never liked Adam’s dad. In my eyes he was a lazy baby and expected everyone to treat him like a King and that he didn’t have to do a damn thing for anyone.

  4. Adam’s Mom has always been the back bone for her family (Adam’s borther and sister and Dad). She did every little thing for them and it really pissed me off. Granted, the kids helped out some of the times, but the father didn’t. I never liked Adam’s dad. In my eyes he was a lazy baby and expected everyone to treat him like a King and that he didn’t have to do a damn thing for anyone.

Leave a Reply

