One day down…

Ok, I am really starting to get excited about going to Ocean City, MD and Delaware this weekend. Even though I really don’t want to spend the money, it is something that Greg and I need; a mini vacation, even if it’s only for two days (Sunday and Monday). I’m more excited about playing on the beach and hoping the water is still warm (my Grandma went last weekend and she said the water was still warm, so who knows), which reminds me that I need to find my swim suit… hmmm… where did it go?

Anyway, work is going well. It’s actually on the slow side. So, I’ve spent some time looking at the shops in Rehobeth Beach, DE and seeing what activities are open. Greg wants to go to a putt-putt course, I want to play in the arcade and rides, we both want to be lazy and lay on the beach, walk on the boardwalk and other usual activities.

Let’s talk about the weather, shall we? You gotta love Maryland’s weather; in a two day span we had temperatures in the mid 90’s with lots of humidity to mid 60’s with low humidity. Tuesday’s temperature was a new record of 94 and today, Thursday, the temperature is a cool 68. Personally, I prefer the cooler weather. And yes, I am one of those people who loves the snow and winter and has no issues with driving in the snow or ice. I love it! I can not wait until we have our first snow of the season. This could be due to me being a winter baby (and so is Amelia). I’ve had a headache all freaking day. It’s going on, now, for at least four hours. I hate headaches that don’t go away even if I drug myself (product placement: Aleve). Headaches=Grumpy Jess Halloween is approaching and Greg and I haven’t talked, much, about what we’re going to do with Amelia. We have confirmed that we’re not taking her trick-or-treating since she is way too young. We haven’t confirmed if we’re going to dress her up; the main reason being is why. We, as of yet, don’t have any plans on doing anything for Halloween with any of our friends or family. I do know that my Mom wants to get pictures taken with Amelia and Olivia and she may do that while she has Amelia next week, I don’t know, so I don’t see any reason to go out and buy a costume for her; secondly if we do have an event to go to with Amelia, Greg and I can’t agree on a costume for Amelia. So far, Greg wants to dress Amelia as a pumpkin (yuck, too traditional or common in my opinion) or a lobster (I don’t know if he’s being serious when he says this, but if he is: N.O.). If I had to choose a costume for Amelia, I would want it to be something unique and clever. But, that is just me.I’ve been killing time by writing a nice long letter to a girlfriend, Michele. She sent me a card earlier this week and rather than send her an email I decided to write a letter.

I’m debating if this is a compliment or not: When Greg and I went to Target on Saturday, a gentleman who was obviously a few bulbs short of a Christmas Tree came up to Greg and me as we were walking back to my car. The guy asked when my baby was due. Then he saw Amelia is the cart and was like “Oh, you already had a baby” and went on and on about Amelia and such in a very loud volume (practically shouting). Where’s the confusion about the compliment? Well, in my mind when someone is pregnant, they are still ‘skinny’ but have just a belly – meaning their overall body is in proportion to each other (arms, legs, face, etc). So, I took it that my body looks good – normal – except for my belly. Compliment? I think so even though it was directed as such. Greg has told me many times that my body shape isn’t like other ‘big girls’ because I have fit/muscular arms and legs. He’s has also mentioned that my ‘problem area’ is my belly – which is true and runs in the family. Since having Amelia and all the weight loss I have noticed that I have lose skin (not to be gross or anything), which I take as a good thing as well. Ones body does go through a lot of changes during and after pregnancy.

Speaking of Amelia, I can’t believe tomorrow will mark her 9th month of life. Nine months since her birth; nine months of having her physically in my life; nine months of watching her grow and develop; nine months of adjusting to being a Mom (and there will be many more months for this adjustment); it’s still an eerie experience. Not eerie in a bad way, but more along the lines of watching someone grow day by day and all the little achievments that occur with each day is not what I or anyone who has never had kids before is used to.

Nine months… I can only wonder what the next nine months are going to be like.

10 thoughts on “One day down…

  1. Yes and no. Thinking about things now seems that the time went quickly, especially when I look at the pictures on Flickr, but while living in that time – it wasn’t moving fast enough.

    Mostly, I wanted the ‘newborn phase’ to be over with ASAP because I was so eager to see who Amelia was going to be, what her personality was/is going to be like, and time was going so slow for me to wait, but now, looking back, it doesn’t seem that it was all that long ago.

    It’s a really weird feeling, mentally and emotionally and hard to really explain.

    Especially since I only had 5 weeks to get used to the idea that I was pregnant.

  2. Yes and no. Thinking about things now seems that the time went quickly, especially when I look at the pictures on Flickr, but while living in that time – it wasn’t moving fast enough.

    Mostly, I wanted the ‘newborn phase’ to be over with ASAP because I was so eager to see who Amelia was going to be, what her personality was/is going to be like, and time was going so slow for me to wait, but now, looking back, it doesn’t seem that it was all that long ago.

    It’s a really weird feeling, mentally and emotionally and hard to really explain.

    Especially since I only had 5 weeks to get used to the idea that I was pregnant.

  3. You didn’t know you were pregnant until you were 5 weeks until your date? wow. Or am I misunderstanding something?

  4. You didn’t know you were pregnant until you were 5 weeks until your date? wow. Or am I misunderstanding something?

  5. That’s correct; from when I had the first ultra sound, after Thanksgiving, to when she was born was about 5 weeks. Amelia was born early – her due date was January 23 and she arrived on the 12th. That didn’t leave a lot of time for me to adjust to the knowledge of what has been growing inside of me and what’s going to happen afterwards.

  6. That’s correct; from when I had the first ultra sound, after Thanksgiving, to when she was born was about 5 weeks. Amelia was born early – her due date was January 23 and she arrived on the 12th. That didn’t leave a lot of time for me to adjust to the knowledge of what has been growing inside of me and what’s going to happen afterwards.

Leave a Reply

