First Party of Decemeber

Well, I made the drive to North East, MD without any confusion or accidents! I’m even surprised, even more so since I did the driving.

Amelia slept the entire way up and the entire way down. Easy driving!

The drive wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. It was a little over an hour each way and I thought I was going to be bored to tears; but I seem to do better as the driver than the passenger for car trips that are more than 45 minutes long.

Jay and Leslee’s place is amazing! It’s the three level three bedroom townhouse. The first level is the rec room and on the second level is the kitchen, living room, and eating area, and on the third level are the three bedrooms. The kitchen is great; it’s big and open! The turn out for their Open House was pretty nice! I’d say, through out the 2.5 hours we where there about 50-60 guests arrived (not all at once). Oh, and the food was out of this world! The chicken salad on croissants was outstanding!

It was bitter sweet seeing Jay. I didn’t get to spend as much time as I would have liked catching up with him. He and Leslee were very busy hosts. We did get a few minutes to talk but it wasn’t enough. Jay looks great, and so does Leslee. They both adored Amelia, as did everyone else who met her. The first thing Jay told me as soon as we walked in was “The pictures of Amelia don’t do justice!” And Jay said that more than once. I was hoping that Jay’s grandparents were going to be there but neither could make it. I asked Jay if it would be ok to send them a Christmas Card and he said they would love to receive one from me (while I was working at Cypress Creek, Jay’s granddad became a patient and I was able to catch up with the family and such; those months before I left were also bitter sweet because I was going to miss them and I wasn’t able to say good bye). There were so many things I wanted to talk to Jay about; so many things I wanted to ask him but I wasn’t able to do so. Maybe it’s for the best, given our history together.

I did become a little sad when I realized that there wasn’t going to a chance for Jay and I to catch up.  But, in all honesty, I wasn’t expecting to do so. The party was exactly as I expected it to be, but I was hoping my expectations were going to be wrong, for once.

On the way home I told Greg my feelings of the party and when I mentioned something that Jay told me a few years ago, and Greg replied “Oh, he’s that guy…”. Yeah, Jay is that guy… and that is being said in a good way.

Time to move onto another subject – no point in dwelling in the past … at least at this moment…

Leave a Reply

