Old Stuff

I didn’t have much physical energy today (could be due to the lack of eating) but my mind was active with photo taking.

I grabbed my old engagement ring this morning with the intent to sell/pawn it. I don’t need it and Adam doesn’t want it so why not get some extra Christmas money. Well, due to the events at the dentist office I forgot all about the ring in my pants pocket until later this afternoon.

After all the years it sat on my bookcase it still has some sparkle and shine. It’s an old ring, about 7 years old now (I believe Adam gave me the ring in 2002), and it got a good beating from me (bent two prongs)! I took a few pictures of the ring:

 

 

Not bad, in my opinion, for a Wal-mart ring. Like I mentioned, it still sparkles without a decent cleaning in about 4 years! I wonder if I should take it to get appraised and maybe I could sell it on eBay or something.

There were a lot of things I liked about the ring. But, there is one thing that I didn’t, and still don’t like about this ring and any other ring out there: the height of the center mount. I learned with this ring, that if the center mount is too high, it’s going to get caught on so many things. I would scratch my cheek in my sleep with it; it would hit doors/walls (which is how the prongs became bent) and I found it annoying. So, when Greg and I started talking about our long term future and I began looking at rings on-line, I already had in mind what I would like. I wanted something with a princess cut (I like the clean edges) and a low setting. I didn’t want a solitaire since they tend to have high settings, plus I want something unique and different. I found a ring that I liked and showed it to Greg (as well as had the sales guy write down the ID number of the ring on the back of a business card so Greg could find it later). He seemed to like it, as Greg told me that he wants to find the perfect ring for me and this ring has to meet his expectations as well. So, we’ll see if Greg listened.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Old Stuff

I didn’t have much physical energy today (could be due to the lack of eating) but my mind was active with photo taking.

I grabbed my old engagement ring this morning with the intent to sell/pawn it. I don’t need it and Adam doesn’t want it so why not get some extra Christmas money. Well, due to the events at the dentist office I forgot all about the ring in my pants pocket until later this afternoon.

After all the years it sat on my bookcase it still has some sparkle and shine. It’s an old ring, about 7 years old now (I believe Adam gave me the ring in 2002), and it got a good beating from me (bent two prongs)! I took a few pictures of the ring:

 

 

Not bad, in my opinion, for a Wal-mart ring. Like I mentioned, it still sparkles without a decent cleaning in about 4 years! I wonder if I should take it to get appraised and maybe I could sell it on eBay or something.

There were a lot of things I liked about the ring. But, there is one thing that I didn’t, and still don’t like about this ring and any other ring out there: the height of the center mount. I learned with this ring, that if the center mount is too high, it’s going to get caught on so many things. I would scratch my cheek in my sleep with it; it would hit doors/walls (which is how the prongs became bent) and I found it annoying. So, when Greg and I started talking about our long term future and I began looking at rings on-line, I already had in mind what I would like. I wanted something with a princess cut (I like the clean edges) and a low setting. I didn’t want a solitaire since they tend to have high settings, plus I want something unique and different. I found a ring that I liked and showed it to Greg (as well as had the sales guy write down the ID number of the ring on the back of a business card so Greg could find it later). He seemed to like it, as Greg told me that he wants to find the perfect ring for me and this ring has to meet his expectations as well. So, we’ll see if Greg listened.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

