Crazy Busy Day!

Well, today was Amelia’s ONE YEAR check-up!!! She received three shots and wasn’t a happy camper. Only to later have some blood drawn. I had more of an anxiety attack when her doc told me he wanted some blood work than seeing Amelia get her shots. I have a somewhat strong phobia for needles and I always develop a slight anxiety attack when I have to get a shot or have any blood work done (and anyone would think that since I have birth and went through all that I did last January (and the many, many IV’s I had.. 3 at the same time at one point) that I would be over my fear – I’m not). And, since my doc ordered some blood work for me when I saw him in December I thought I might as well fulfill that order as well. I will say, the lady at Lab-Corp did a great job! I barely felt the needle go in and there isn’t a bruise on my arm or anything. And, Amelia did as expected – she cried. I was surprised that she didn’t try to interfere with the phlebotomist (and that they didn’t have to tie her down like I was expecting).

Anyway, here are the stats on Amelia:

Weight: 20lbs even (previous appointment was 18 lbs and 4 ounces)

Height: 28.5 inches!! She’s a tall little girl (previous appointment was 27 1/4 inches)

Not a huge growth spurt, but she’s still in line with everything (her pediatrician doesn’t give those percentages at each check-up, and it’s probably for the best as I would probably over worry for nothing). Oh, and she has two more teeth growing in – on the top. It seems, that when Amelia’s teeth decide to grow, they grow two at a time! Plus, isn’t it a little odd that it’s her top teeth growing in rather than her bottom? Anyway, as soon as these two new teeth break through she’ll have a total of six teeth.

Anyway, after Amelia’s appointment we went to have the blood work done and then we went to the WIC appointment only to learn that I was a little early… by a day (this is an example of why I might need a PDA)! So, I told the WIC person that I don’t wish to continue with the program as I don’t need the services anymore. The lady actually tried to talk me out of quitting!! I guess it’s rare that they are told that someone doesn’t need the assistance anymore. But, I still don’t know why they would try to talk me about it. I just told the lady that I wouldn’t qualify anymore because of my income (which is true).

By now it’s 11:30am and we decide to take Amelia to day care. I update the sitter about Amelia and her shots and what not and then Greg and I head out to Columbia to have lunch at The Olive Garden. Greg has had a gift card to the restaurant for over a year, in addition to two gift cards to Borders.

Lunch at The Olive Garden was… horrible. Our server was bad. I actually spoke to the manager about our experience at the restaurant. This lady, our server, seemed to have forgotten all about us even though she passed by us countless times. And, according to the manager she only had three tables to serve (including ours)! We knew it was going to be a bad experience when she forgot to bring us our drinks and I had to flag her down, twice, to ask for our drinks. She never put in our appetizer order (which we realized later), and never stopped by to see how we’re doing or offered us a refill of our drinks. After talking to the manager, he said he would take care of it. At that time my Mom called so Greg spoke to the manager and I don’t know what they talked about but we had $7.53 taken off our bill and he gave us a $25 gift card (which is what we were paying our lunch with) and stated that he hopes we’ll return in the futre. We understand people have bad days, but if you’re in the server business – at least communicate with your customers so we’re not left wondering. Since we were paying with a gift card, what ever balance was on the gift card was going to be the tip – it was about a 6% tip.

After lunch, we stopped by Greg’s office to get a few things and then we were off to Borders. Today’s weather was freaky! We had a mild snow flurry blizzard this afternoon! Greg and I sat in the car at Borders and watched the snow fly by us! It was so cool; the wind was blowing so fast that it looked we were driving through the snow (as we sat facing the wind and snow). When the snow wind was over we headed inside. Greg and I spent nearly two hours in that store. I so love book stores and could spend days in there! There were so many books I wanted to get (about photography, wedding planning, traveling, photoshop, etc) and Greg found a ton as well. Can you believe we spent $71 at the store and we only bought periodicals!

After our little shopping spree at Borders, we stopped by the loan office and dropped off some paper work and then came home and… well… you get the idea. Around 5:40pm, Greg left to go get Amelia and we found something that pissed me off, not Greg but me. What this person did was illegal and if I find out who did this there will be hell to pay (with the law and lawyers).

So, I spent a good part of the evening cooling off and doing a little reasearch. I am so thankful that Greg and I have such an open relationship and how we communicate to each other.

Anyway, to distract my thoughts I decided to look at some wedding things and go through the magazines that we bought earlier today. I haven’t really found anything that stands out to me. I have looking up a few other bridal salons and marked their websites as a favorite to remember them when I am ready to dress shop. But, Greg and I need to pick our location and then plan from there. We’re probably going to do start our venue hunt this spring; that’s when I’m going to really start getting excited about this wedding (not to say that I’m not excited now).

I’ve got a headache so I’m heading out.

5 thoughts on “Crazy Busy Day!

  1. Wow, what a busy day! Glad that Amelia is growing well and all that good stuff, all my kids are tall and those charts never really concerned me after my first freak out over them! haha

    Sucks about Olive Garden, but atleast you get $25! That rules! 🙂

    I would love to go to a big bookstore and pick out some photography books, but not until I get a new camera…which will hopefully be here in the next few weeks!

    What’s the illegal stuff you’re talking about…I wanna know now that you brought it up!

  2. Wow, what a busy day! Glad that Amelia is growing well and all that good stuff, all my kids are tall and those charts never really concerned me after my first freak out over them! haha

    Sucks about Olive Garden, but atleast you get $25! That rules! 🙂

    I would love to go to a big bookstore and pick out some photography books, but not until I get a new camera…which will hopefully be here in the next few weeks!

    What’s the illegal stuff you’re talking about…I wanna know now that you brought it up!

  3. Ugh, it’s too envolved to discuss via comments. If you’d like, send me an email and I will give you the password to the protected posts and then you can catch-up on the history.

  4. Ugh, it’s too envolved to discuss via comments. If you’d like, send me an email and I will give you the password to the protected posts and then you can catch-up on the history.

  5. Pingback: First Half « Something about Nothing

Leave a Reply

