Good Stuff

Boy! were Greg and I (mainly me) productive today! And to think I never even got dressed!

The day started with Amelia getting up at 6AM!! and she didn’t go back to sleep. Greg, being the awesome Dad that he is, took care of Amelia and let me sleep until 8:30am. By 9am I was putting in the first (of many) load of laundry in.

the day was very uneventful. I stayed home and did about 7 loads of laundry. Why so many? First of all, our washer/dryer is itty bitty so I don’t have room to do large loads; secondly, i was uber lazy with laundry this past week and had a lot of catching up to do; and finally, i went through a box of clothes that was given to me when Amelia was 6 weeks old from a third cousin of mine. all the clothes were 12 mos (perfect!) and i had to wash those (which was about 2 loads worth).

in addition to the laundry, we cleaned out closets and dressers. I took all of Amelia’s clothes that were 9 mos or smaller and put them in 2 large bags to donate; i went through my underwear and socks drawer and threw away all that were too big or just plain old and Greg did the same with his socks and underwear drawer; those items were thrown out. Once we were done in the bedroom, we moved our cleaning spree to the kitchen and dining/living area. Greg even vacuumed!

but, before we got into the cleaning of the dining/living area, I took this clip of Amelia (i was trying to get her to do the ‘la la la’ thing):

if you watched, you’ll notice that I wasn’t successful.

Greg and I would take pauses during our cleaning spree and watch TV. Our viewing pleasure of the day was the Travel Channel and they were showing a boat load (ha ha) of shows about cruises (Samantha Brown’s show)! While we were watching the show (a Royal Caribbean Cruise to the Caribbean) and started to reallywant to go on a cruise – before our honeymoon! And Greg was like, “we can do that”. I was like, “we can, why didn’t you tell me this before?”. Greg said something along the lines about our financial standings are better… bla bla bla – i was focused on the idea of planning a cruise – TODAY! and then it was decided that we will celebrate my 30th birthday on a Norwegian Cruise to the Caribbean!! I got all giddy inside thinking about this time next year.

Unfortunately, my day dreaming of the cruise was cut short so we could get back to the cleaning. I am surprised we accomplished all that we did today; especially being distracted by putting in a movie (Aladdin – which is one of three favorite Disney movies – i have ‘issues’ about Disney and their movies – maybe I’ll talk about that some other time (even though I’ve mentioned some of it already)).

Around 3:30 Amelia was becoming cramky, irritable, and all around … difficult. So, we took her into our bedroom to lay down and try to get her to fall asleep. Didn’t happen. Instead I took another video:

Greg left for work a little after 4pm and it was just me and fussy Amelia. We didn’t do anything special; i got her to walk across the room, that was about it. Eventually, she fell asleep around 5:15pm.  I woke her up around 6:20 and she went back to sleep in my arms until 6:50. Around 7:15 i start the sides for dinner (rice pilaf for the pork roast) and then i sit down on the floor and take this video :

Greg makes it home around 7:30 and we have dinner together; Mom calls and she and I chat on the phone while Greg gives Amelia her bath. Mom and I talk about next weekends plans and ideas. Mom thought about having a girls day (mom, daughter, and grandbaby) and get our hair and nails done; do some girly shopping and lunch. Greg is more than welcome to join us but Mom doesn’t think he’ll have much fun. I told her that I would really enjoy that kind of day, but I don’t know what Greg has planned for me to celebrate my birthday; so I didn’t want to commit to anything with her and ruin what Greg may have planned already. At least I still have some time to figure something out.

Once Amelia was in bed, I went to NCL’s website and did a preliminary price check and such for a booking and got so freaking excited!! Greg and I could totally afford this cruise! We were so tempted to pay the deposit (only $200) right then and there but we didn’t. We want to look into passports as we have a few questions/concerns. Once we have our passports filed – we’re going to book and that is looking to be around mid February!! Oh, and the trip is from Feb 1-6!! I will be somewhere exotic on my 30th birthday!! We’re going to book a balcony room, which looks like this:

cruise ship - balcony room

greg and I picked our room location on the ship (towards the end). Oh my gawd, I am so freaking excited about this!! I want to contact NCL and see what kind of special things I can do for Greg.

**This Just In**

I’ve been chatting with my good friend, Ed, and we were talking about concerts and how I want to get tickets to the Blue Man Group. I was having some difficulty is picking the section of tickets I want to buy on TicketMaster. So, I went to StubHub and the prices were outrageous! Then Ed sends the following to me:

Jessica : going to work your concert magic?

Jessica : 2/15/08 is the date

i_**_***_******_****: ok… just talked with my brother in law… his mother used to work for the city and a friend of hers gets tix

i_**_***_******_****: he has 4 tix for the show

i_**_***_******_****: he thinks it’s section 106

i_**_***_******_****: he will find out for sure and i’ll get back to ya

Jessica : about what

i_**_***_******_****: tix

Jessica : selling them to me?

i_**_***_******_****: yeah… face value

!!!! isn’t that freakin awesome!! I hope I can hold in my excitment and try  to surprise Greg with the news if I get the tickets; after all, theres a little more than 2 weeks until the concert – can I do it – maybe I’ll bargin with myself and surprise him with the news on our anniversary. yeah, i think that’ll work.

anyway, it’s late and i should be going to bed. I’ll post about the wedding dresses tomorrow (after my trip to the jewelry store to get my ring – i hope).

Leave a Reply

