Weekend Report w/ Good Stuff

Saturday started at 6:45am – when the alarm went off. Greg and I pretended Saturday was a work day otherwise we would have overslept. I didn’t have much to pack since I did most of everything the night before so we were out of the house and into the car by 8:20am.

The drive down to Mom’s was uneventful. I called cousin April to see what she was up to since she didn’t reply to my email last week and told her about the Easter event at St. Ignatius Church (this is where my aunt had her ashes ‘tossed’ as this was her favorite church) and she was like “Oh, I wanna go!!” so I told her that I asked her via email and she mentioned that her work has blocked a lot of email address (meaning incoming emails from addresses such as hotmail, yahoo, gmail, etc) and she didn’t get my email. So anyway I told her that I was meeting Mom at the liquor store at the ‘split’ and said that we would wait for her. While waiting I took this picture of Amelia (which is also my background pic on my laptop and work computer):

Ameila wearing Daddy's hat

After what felt like an eternity (I can get impatient at times), Mom arrives and then April calls; she’s at the wrong liquor store and with in a few minutes we’re all together and on our way to St. Ignatius.

The church is beautiful and has amazing views itself:

St. Ignatius Church

St Ignatius Church

View from atop of the hill

as I mentioned, there are some breathtaking views; perfect for wedding pictures. But after the event I decided that I didn’t want a wedding at the church (even though my family was a member) and the reason being is because I know there would be too many rules and restrictions and I don’t want that – I want to be able to create my wedding; and that was pretty much it for wedding talk for the day.

The Easter Event/Fair/Extravaganza… what-have-you was…. different. When we were leaving my Mom and cousin, both, said that people over dressed for the event. I only noticed how many pregnant people there were; you’d think there was a convention instead of an Easter event! Anyway, there were a lot of activities for the kiddies: Easter Egg Hunt (which my Mom did with Amelia and I didn’t get pictures because I couldn’t find them); pony rides:

Amelia on a pony

bubbles (which Amelia now loves and asks for):

Amelia and the Bubbles

and a picture with the Easter Bunny:

Amelia with the Easter Bunny

Amelia didn’t cry when she sat with the Easter Bunny and this was her first time sitting next to anyone wearing a suit as such. Olivia, my cousins baby, cried:

Olivia and the Easter Bunny

and lunch was provided because we had to pay $15, a person, to enjoy the festivities; here are a few pictures from lunch:

Chubby Cheeks Amelia

Olivia eating her prunes

I had a great time hanging out with April and Olivia and Greg took a nice picture of us girls:

The Girls of the family

after a few hours we parted ways; Mom went home with Amelia and April went home to get ready for a birthday party (a member of her boyfriends family) and Greg and I headed to Bed, Bath, and Beyond… and….

Bed, Bath & Beyond Bridal Registry Dept!

created our wedding registry! Greg and I had a lot of fun putting items onto the registry – even though we were so very exhausted from the day we had! We had a well thought out plan on how to go through each and every section of the store and started in the kitchen gadget section and worked our way around. While we were there, Michele calls and tells me she’s in the area and I tell here where I am and she stops by the mall for a quick visit before heading back home (a three hour car ride). Getting back to the registry… Greg let me pick out the colors of our pots and pans and appliances (red and metal (brushed metal, shiny metal – basically, if it wasn’t in red I picked the metal version rather than the white/cream plastic version) and I let him pick out the glasses. We didn’t do much in the bedding/curtain section (we were way too exhausted to care by this point) and in roughly two hours we were done. You can view our registry here (along with the wedding site that I somewhat put together). We did pick a ‘china’ pattern, even though initially we weren’t interested, and the reason we did so is because china dishes are much more practical and made for everyday use now a days and are even dishwasher safe so we said what the hay and picked the patter on the display shelf in the picture (top shelf). We actually liked the pattern. I would totally recommend Bed, Bath & Beyond to anyone who is getting married. The company has so many incentives (such as if you register so much money from this one manufacture, they send you a gift and if your guests buy so much from the registry, by the manufacture, the couple receives another gift) and have an amazing return policy (basically, we have up to 2 years after the wedding to return/exchange an item).

After our fun at Bed, Bath & Beyond we head over to T.G.I.Fridays for dinner. The wait for a table was about 15 minutes so Greg and I head to the bar and order drinks; Greg has a Cherry Raspberry ‘Rita (which was very yummy)

Greg with his Cherry Raspberry 'Rita

and I order a Yellow Fin Sangria (which was also yummy but not as yummy as Greg’s drink):

Sangria

and soon our number was called and we were seated. I has to say, service was above par that night! Greg and I barely had time to discuss our registry shopping since the food was coming out so quickly! Of course, pictures were taken on the food! Greg ordered a Chipolte Grilled Steak Sandwich (which had friend plantains on it):

and I only had a rack of ribs (only ate half – the other half was dinner on Sunday night):

after dinner, there was still enough light outside to stop by the ‘airport park’ and watch the planes takes off. Once we left the park we headed home; I uploaded the pictures and went to bed.

On Sunday I woke up not feeling so hot and in a bad mood. Greg and I had a tiff about stuff and I was all emotional and ‘girlie’ about things – basically I wasn’t myself. Thus more reason for me to seek other means of birth control. Eventually, around 2pm I think, we left the house to go to Giant and refill my birth control only to learn that there were no refills left! Umm… weren’t you guys suppose to remind me to contact my doc for another refill? So, they gave me one months supply apposed to the usual three months that I get. Fine. And now Greg and I are on our way to Baltimore to finally visit the MD Science Ctr and see the Body Worlds 2 and the brain Exhibit!!!Well, traffic was a bitch due to a parade (which neither of us knew about) for St. Patrick’s Day. And, eventually we find a parking spot at the Rusty Scupper. Greg took pictures of the harbour:

Baltimore Harbour

and other items along the way. The Body Worlds 2 exhibit is fascinating, to say the least. Greg felt a little different, he didn’t know if he should be grossed out or intrigued. I was in awe. I love the human body and seeing how it works, so I was mesmerized by all of it! I practically studied the ‘specimens’ as long as I possibly could (there were a lot of other guests); I tried to see how many parts I could name and see if I was correct. I also noticed that a lot, if not all, of the bodies had their belly button ‘tag’ still on them and that I could still see hair (on the head, eye lashes, eye brows, and some pubic hair). Also, a lot of the bodies were men and there was penises (or is it peni for plural) ‘hanging out’; Greg was weirded by that. There was a section of the exhibit that was kinda off the regular route because it was specifically about birth and embryo’s. I went through it and so did Greg. We saw a embryo as young as 4 weeks gestation all the way through 29 weeks (I believe). A part of me was curious as to what happened to the embryo (meaning why was it here) yet there was the part that was completely fascinated just to see it. There was a whole female, pregnant, on display and it showed how the organs are repositioned due to the growing uterus. Seeing all the stages of a growing fetus made me think about all that I missed out on my pregnancy – reading about all the developmental milestones and such. It was a unique emotion going through that section of the exhibit.

Apparently, the Science Center closes at 5 and Greg and I exited the Body Worlds exhibit around 4:15, so we looked around a bit and played with some of the ‘toys’:

Dino Display

Me playing in the 'clouds'

Greg's Tornado

and as we were walking back to the car we decided to go to Sakura’sfor dinner. It had been a couple of years since I was last there so I decided why not. Sakura’s is a Japanese Steak House, they cook the mean in front of you. It’s pretty fun at times – if you have an entertaining chef and fun neighbors. Our chef wasn’t all that entertaining and our neighbors (one set) were somewhat annoying. Oh, and I almost had egg on me; the chef missed his hat and the egg crashed in front of me. But, I did catch to bits of shrimp during the shrimp toss (and I don’t even like shrimp). Here are a few pics:

onion RING of Fire

Chop Chop

Umm… yeah… I was so hungry that I ate the rice as soon as it was on my plate and had to wait for the meat. Greg ordered a glass of plum wine. I’ve never tasted it before so I gave it a shot. It was interesting; I tasted the sweetness and then the bitterness. I don’t know if I liked it enough to order on my own.

After dinner we headed over to Cold Stone Creamery for dessert. I’ve never been before; it was alright – maybe I wasn’t in the mood for ice cream to give it a fair review.

Once we were home we did some laundry and I uploaded pictures, started the post, checked out our registry and created that little bit of our wedding page, and went to bed.

Somewhere along the weekend Greg and I talked about my upcoming bonus (getting it on April 25, the day after Greg’s 30th birthday) and I told him what I was getting him for his birthday, only because I know we can get a better price through Dell and there was no way I could order it without him knowing. So, wondering was I bought him? I (or we) ordered the Canon EOS 40D:

a digital SLR camera. It’s a sweet camera and I can’t wait to use it. We also ordered 2 4gig cards for the camera and now we’re lusting over lenses; i totally want a fisheye lens (with macro of course)!

We got a great deal on the camera; saved around $200 of the total price (including taxes). Dell has it on back order, yet the have an estimated ship date of April 1 or 2; we’re not holding our breath given Dell’s track record (my DS was ordered on Dec 2 and it didn’t arrive until Feb 26 last year). Either way, we’re totally excited about the recent purchase!

So, despite my mood over the weekend, I did have a good time.

The End.

3 thoughts on “Weekend Report w/ Good Stuff

  1. Ok…so Amelia is freakin’ adorable, the easter bunny freaked me out, BB&B is amazing (I used to work as a Bridal Consultant for them), the vat you’re standing next too would make a GREAT bathtub and I want the drink you were having. Woo. Did I get it all??!

  2. Hey You!! In case you hadn’t figured it out I don’t get on Yahoo as often as I should, LOL! Just added you!!!! Didn’t want you to think I was ignoring you!!! (hugs)

  3. Aw, Claudia – I figured as much about Y!… sadly, I don’t get on as much either but I am trying to fix that.

    And, yes you got it all and a bag of chips, babe! Thanks for the compliments on my ability to breed well (read: Amelia being adorable). 🙂

Leave a Reply

Weekend Report w/ Good Stuff

Saturday started at 6:45am – when the alarm went off. Greg and I pretended Saturday was a work day otherwise we would have overslept. I didn’t have much to pack since I did most of everything the night before so we were out of the house and into the car by 8:20am.

The drive down to Mom’s was uneventful. I called cousin April to see what she was up to since she didn’t reply to my email last week and told her about the Easter event at St. Ignatius Church (this is where my aunt had her ashes ‘tossed’ as this was her favorite church) and she was like “Oh, I wanna go!!” so I told her that I asked her via email and she mentioned that her work has blocked a lot of email address (meaning incoming emails from addresses such as hotmail, yahoo, gmail, etc) and she didn’t get my email. So anyway I told her that I was meeting Mom at the liquor store at the ‘split’ and said that we would wait for her. While waiting I took this picture of Amelia (which is also my background pic on my laptop and work computer):

Ameila wearing Daddy's hat

After what felt like an eternity (I can get impatient at times), Mom arrives and then April calls; she’s at the wrong liquor store and with in a few minutes we’re all together and on our way to St. Ignatius.

The church is beautiful and has amazing views itself:

St. Ignatius Church

St Ignatius Church

View from atop of the hill

as I mentioned, there are some breathtaking views; perfect for wedding pictures. But after the event I decided that I didn’t want a wedding at the church (even though my family was a member) and the reason being is because I know there would be too many rules and restrictions and I don’t want that – I want to be able to create my wedding; and that was pretty much it for wedding talk for the day.

The Easter Event/Fair/Extravaganza… what-have-you was…. different. When we were leaving my Mom and cousin, both, said that people over dressed for the event. I only noticed how many pregnant people there were; you’d think there was a convention instead of an Easter event! Anyway, there were a lot of activities for the kiddies: Easter Egg Hunt (which my Mom did with Amelia and I didn’t get pictures because I couldn’t find them); pony rides:

Amelia on a pony

bubbles (which Amelia now loves and asks for):

Amelia and the Bubbles

and a picture with the Easter Bunny:

Amelia with the Easter Bunny

Amelia didn’t cry when she sat with the Easter Bunny and this was her first time sitting next to anyone wearing a suit as such. Olivia, my cousins baby, cried:

Olivia and the Easter Bunny

and lunch was provided because we had to pay $15, a person, to enjoy the festivities; here are a few pictures from lunch:

Chubby Cheeks Amelia

Olivia eating her prunes

I had a great time hanging out with April and Olivia and Greg took a nice picture of us girls:

The Girls of the family

after a few hours we parted ways; Mom went home with Amelia and April went home to get ready for a birthday party (a member of her boyfriends family) and Greg and I headed to Bed, Bath, and Beyond… and….

Bed, Bath & Beyond Bridal Registry Dept!

created our wedding registry! Greg and I had a lot of fun putting items onto the registry – even though we were so very exhausted from the day we had! We had a well thought out plan on how to go through each and every section of the store and started in the kitchen gadget section and worked our way around. While we were there, Michele calls and tells me she’s in the area and I tell here where I am and she stops by the mall for a quick visit before heading back home (a three hour car ride). Getting back to the registry… Greg let me pick out the colors of our pots and pans and appliances (red and metal (brushed metal, shiny metal – basically, if it wasn’t in red I picked the metal version rather than the white/cream plastic version) and I let him pick out the glasses. We didn’t do much in the bedding/curtain section (we were way too exhausted to care by this point) and in roughly two hours we were done. You can view our registry here (along with the wedding site that I somewhat put together). We did pick a ‘china’ pattern, even though initially we weren’t interested, and the reason we did so is because china dishes are much more practical and made for everyday use now a days and are even dishwasher safe so we said what the hay and picked the patter on the display shelf in the picture (top shelf). We actually liked the pattern. I would totally recommend Bed, Bath & Beyond to anyone who is getting married. The company has so many incentives (such as if you register so much money from this one manufacture, they send you a gift and if your guests buy so much from the registry, by the manufacture, the couple receives another gift) and have an amazing return policy (basically, we have up to 2 years after the wedding to return/exchange an item).

After our fun at Bed, Bath & Beyond we head over to T.G.I.Fridays for dinner. The wait for a table was about 15 minutes so Greg and I head to the bar and order drinks; Greg has a Cherry Raspberry ‘Rita (which was very yummy)

Greg with his Cherry Raspberry 'Rita

and I order a Yellow Fin Sangria (which was also yummy but not as yummy as Greg’s drink):

Sangria

and soon our number was called and we were seated. I has to say, service was above par that night! Greg and I barely had time to discuss our registry shopping since the food was coming out so quickly! Of course, pictures were taken on the food! Greg ordered a Chipolte Grilled Steak Sandwich (which had friend plantains on it):

and I only had a rack of ribs (only ate half – the other half was dinner on Sunday night):

after dinner, there was still enough light outside to stop by the ‘airport park’ and watch the planes takes off. Once we left the park we headed home; I uploaded the pictures and went to bed.

On Sunday I woke up not feeling so hot and in a bad mood. Greg and I had a tiff about stuff and I was all emotional and ‘girlie’ about things – basically I wasn’t myself. Thus more reason for me to seek other means of birth control. Eventually, around 2pm I think, we left the house to go to Giant and refill my birth control only to learn that there were no refills left! Umm… weren’t you guys suppose to remind me to contact my doc for another refill? So, they gave me one months supply apposed to the usual three months that I get. Fine. And now Greg and I are on our way to Baltimore to finally visit the MD Science Ctr and see the Body Worlds 2 and the brain Exhibit!!!Well, traffic was a bitch due to a parade (which neither of us knew about) for St. Patrick’s Day. And, eventually we find a parking spot at the Rusty Scupper. Greg took pictures of the harbour:

Baltimore Harbour

and other items along the way. The Body Worlds 2 exhibit is fascinating, to say the least. Greg felt a little different, he didn’t know if he should be grossed out or intrigued. I was in awe. I love the human body and seeing how it works, so I was mesmerized by all of it! I practically studied the ‘specimens’ as long as I possibly could (there were a lot of other guests); I tried to see how many parts I could name and see if I was correct. I also noticed that a lot, if not all, of the bodies had their belly button ‘tag’ still on them and that I could still see hair (on the head, eye lashes, eye brows, and some pubic hair). Also, a lot of the bodies were men and there was penises (or is it peni for plural) ‘hanging out’; Greg was weirded by that. There was a section of the exhibit that was kinda off the regular route because it was specifically about birth and embryo’s. I went through it and so did Greg. We saw a embryo as young as 4 weeks gestation all the way through 29 weeks (I believe). A part of me was curious as to what happened to the embryo (meaning why was it here) yet there was the part that was completely fascinated just to see it. There was a whole female, pregnant, on display and it showed how the organs are repositioned due to the growing uterus. Seeing all the stages of a growing fetus made me think about all that I missed out on my pregnancy – reading about all the developmental milestones and such. It was a unique emotion going through that section of the exhibit.

Apparently, the Science Center closes at 5 and Greg and I exited the Body Worlds exhibit around 4:15, so we looked around a bit and played with some of the ‘toys’:

Dino Display

Me playing in the 'clouds'

Greg's Tornado

and as we were walking back to the car we decided to go to Sakura’sfor dinner. It had been a couple of years since I was last there so I decided why not. Sakura’s is a Japanese Steak House, they cook the mean in front of you. It’s pretty fun at times – if you have an entertaining chef and fun neighbors. Our chef wasn’t all that entertaining and our neighbors (one set) were somewhat annoying. Oh, and I almost had egg on me; the chef missed his hat and the egg crashed in front of me. But, I did catch to bits of shrimp during the shrimp toss (and I don’t even like shrimp). Here are a few pics:

onion RING of Fire

Chop Chop

Umm… yeah… I was so hungry that I ate the rice as soon as it was on my plate and had to wait for the meat. Greg ordered a glass of plum wine. I’ve never tasted it before so I gave it a shot. It was interesting; I tasted the sweetness and then the bitterness. I don’t know if I liked it enough to order on my own.

After dinner we headed over to Cold Stone Creamery for dessert. I’ve never been before; it was alright – maybe I wasn’t in the mood for ice cream to give it a fair review.

Once we were home we did some laundry and I uploaded pictures, started the post, checked out our registry and created that little bit of our wedding page, and went to bed.

Somewhere along the weekend Greg and I talked about my upcoming bonus (getting it on April 25, the day after Greg’s 30th birthday) and I told him what I was getting him for his birthday, only because I know we can get a better price through Dell and there was no way I could order it without him knowing. So, wondering was I bought him? I (or we) ordered the Canon EOS 40D:

a digital SLR camera. It’s a sweet camera and I can’t wait to use it. We also ordered 2 4gig cards for the camera and now we’re lusting over lenses; i totally want a fisheye lens (with macro of course)!

We got a great deal on the camera; saved around $200 of the total price (including taxes). Dell has it on back order, yet the have an estimated ship date of April 1 or 2; we’re not holding our breath given Dell’s track record (my DS was ordered on Dec 2 and it didn’t arrive until Feb 26 last year). Either way, we’re totally excited about the recent purchase!

So, despite my mood over the weekend, I did have a good time.

The End.

3 thoughts on “Weekend Report w/ Good Stuff

  1. Ok…so Amelia is freakin’ adorable, the easter bunny freaked me out, BB&B is amazing (I used to work as a Bridal Consultant for them), the vat you’re standing next too would make a GREAT bathtub and I want the drink you were having. Woo. Did I get it all??!

  2. Hey You!! In case you hadn’t figured it out I don’t get on Yahoo as often as I should, LOL! Just added you!!!! Didn’t want you to think I was ignoring you!!! (hugs)

  3. Aw, Claudia – I figured as much about Y!… sadly, I don’t get on as much either but I am trying to fix that.

    And, yes you got it all and a bag of chips, babe! Thanks for the compliments on my ability to breed well (read: Amelia being adorable). 🙂

Leave a Reply

