Reality

This is the last year of my 20’s, next year I will turn 30. I am a mother of one, already divorced and about the start a second marriage. That’s a lot of ‘stuff’ to go through during your 20’s, not to mention all the tough decisions, choices, and risks I made/took to get to where I am today. I will be the first to admit that it, the choices and decisions and everything that made me do what I did, was hard and there were times that I wanted to give up, to say ‘fuck it’ to everything and everyone (that pissed me off) and just live out of my car or move to another state and start fresh.

Those feelings, those ones of giving up, haven’t ‘visited’ since 2006, when I was second guessing one of my biggest decisions. On the other hand, I’ve had to deal with completely different ‘things’ that are just as emotionally tiring and draining. But, just like before, I will progress and persevere.

Amelia has learned ‘poo-poo potty’ and what it means and TRIED to go ‘poo-poo potty’, but only ended up farting in the potty chair. Amelia is less than 15 months of age and already is putting two and two together about poop and a toilet. The reality is that Amelia is growing up much faster than I ‘see’, and that is a whole new sight to see.

Greg and I have begun house hunting. We’re looking into first time home buyer programs within Maryland and are seriously planning on buying our first house next year. The reality is that with Greg, plans and goals are actually done and achieved, something I never experienced during the 7 years I was with Adam; Greg is the best ‘thing’ to happen to me and I feel so lucky to have him in my life, even before we started dating and had Amelia.

I have ‘grown up’ a lot during my 20’s, probably a lot more than other people (that I personally know or know of). Given that statistics of how children, from the type of childhood I had, become adults – I am looked upon as a rare gem; I beat the odds.

I feel successful. I feel that, through it all, when the cons outweighed the pros, I still succeeded.

Reality, and life, is what you make it to be.

6 thoughts on “Reality

  1. Don’t know how to really comment on this post with anything useful or insightful but just wanted to let you know that I read it and I really enjoyed it.

    And I think it’s a wonderful thing when one can look back on his or her life and realize the hardships and the perseverance are what make them successful today and make them who they are today.

  2. Don’t know how to really comment on this post with anything useful or insightful but just wanted to let you know that I read it and I really enjoyed it.

    And I think it’s a wonderful thing when one can look back on his or her life and realize the hardships and the perseverance are what make them successful today and make them who they are today.

  3. Thanks. Your recent writings had some inspiration – igniting the fire so to speak – for me to see all that’ve I’ve done in the last few years, mainly since 2005 to present.

  4. Thanks. Your recent writings had some inspiration – igniting the fire so to speak – for me to see all that’ve I’ve done in the last few years, mainly since 2005 to present.

  5. Pingback: Motherly Love « Here We Go Again

  6. Pingback: Motherly Love « Here We Go Again

Leave a Reply

