T minus…

Less than 36 hours until we’re in an airplane and on our way to Michigan!

Gee, these last three months have flown by! I remember when we booked the airfare back in February that Amelia would be 16 months old when we visit, and she had just turned 13 months!

I am starting to freak out, just a little bit more, about the flight. I’m more worried about Amelia than I am about myself (second airplane ride in my 29 years of life); I worry about Amelia crying the entire length of the plane ride (all one hour and 34 minutes). It has been suggested that I give her a ‘shot’ of Benadryl to make her drowsy, but I don’t feel comfortable with that. My only solution is to tough it out if she cries. God, help me now!

There is some good news for the day:

Detroit Tigers, here we come!

We got tickets to the Tigers game!!!

It took some persuasive talking and … other things… to convince Greg to purchase the tickets/research for tickets. As I mentioned earlier, he was ‘boycotting’ StubHub and their legalized scalping. But, nonetheless, I am uber excited about going to the game, as is Greg’s Dad and step-sister, Renee. I am, on the other hand, worried about the time of the game and Amelia. Amelia has a pretty good routine of going to bed between 7:30-7:45pm and the game doesn’t start until 7:05pm. Amelia has THREE teeth coming in right now and, according to the babysitting, has been a bit of a nightmare these last two days (towards the end of the afternoon), but… I am sure there is going to be icee’s or frozen fruit juice of some sort that I can give her to ease any ‘growing pains’ she might be going through. But, even still, I fear she’ll be a handful.

Am I ready for the travel? Yes and No.

I am ready in the sense of packing (started on Saturday), I’ve got my “DO NOT FORGET” list on the refrigerator, we’ve eaten/used/thrown away anything that might… expire… while we’re gone for nearly 5 days; given out our flight information and phone numbers to those of importance… and that’s really all I have to do to prepare. Greg and I are both leaving work early tomorrow to run some last minute errands (one being to return our favorite blue shirt to the store because it shrunk 6+ inches after I washed it in cold water and hung it to dry), and – for the first time in my life – stop by the beauty shop for a pedicure! I feel the need to try something new and be pampered. And, Greg is going to accompany me; don’t know if he’s going to get a pedicure or not (hoping to convince him to do so), but he said he will join me.

Now, in the mental, psychological sense of what I’m about to embark on, I don’t think it has ‘hit’ me yet. Which is kinda scary because now I wonder what I am going to be like when I am less than two days from our cruise! Maybe the realization of my traveling, via airplane with a 16 month old, hasn’t really creeped into my consciousness. Although, by tomorrow night or Thursday morning I feel confident I’ll feel the realization… all the way into a anxiety/panic attack! I believe it’s the plane ride that I am mostly fearing and I need to not let that get to me… I wonder if the bars are open at 7am in the airport…

Anyway, I should get ready for bed and all that jazz…

or something of that nature!

6 thoughts on “T minus…

Leave a Reply

