Friends & Family

This weekend was spent with our closest friends (mine) and family (his).

Saturday:

Well, I decided not to head down to La Plata for Olivia’s first birthday party. There were two (well, a few more) reasons: 1. Pat, Greg’s brother, is home for a few weeks (end of Aug) and asked to come over; and 2. Michele was coming down to visit us.

So, Greg and I spent the morning reorganizing the mess Amelia made in the two days she’s been home. Around 1:30pm Michele arrives with her new “friend”, M, and we hang out while we wait for Greg to return from the grocery store (to get goodies for our guests). It was so good to really catch-up with Michele. We didn’t even talk much wedding talk (except for mine; she’s trying to get the time off to come).

The plan was to head down to the Eastern Shore to our favorite restaurant, The Jetty (there all-you-can-eat rate was $26.99 for med/large crabs, a FANTASTIC price!). But, the traffic was horrendous to get over the Bay Bridge! So, we decided to turn around and find another place to eat. We ended up going to Seaside. I’ve eaten there a few times with my friend Lisa, and it was the only good place I knew of.

The crabs were not cheap ($45 a dozen), but I was with good company and decided to splurge. And, Michele’s friend, M, has never ‘picked’ a crab before; and it’s always entertaining to teach someone how to eat a Maryland Crab!

And, one can’t have Maryland crabs without a cold glass of beer:

Michele modeling the way to have MD Crabs

Michele modeling the way to have MD Crabs

Having Michele ‘home’ felt so good . I didn’t realize how much I missed her until she was gone again. We’ve been texting each other like mad since Saturday. We still have a lot of catching-up to do.

After a few hours we went home and hung out at our place for a little while and Greg was kind enough to take some pictures of me and Michele (and Amelia):

Best Friend Bear Hugs

Best Friend Bear Hugs

Michele, Amelia, and Me

Michele, Amelia, and Me

Is it me, or does my head look HUGE in these pictures?

Being Silly

Being Silly

We were able to do a little wedding talk and I know that I am going to be in her wedding party; she’s going to have the wedding in Washington, DC, the wedding is going to be in September 2009 (which I think I’ve already mentioned) and that she’s going “all out” for her wedding! Like, full blown traditional wedding. I can’t wait!

Michele and M left early in the evening, around the time we were expecting Greg’s brothers and Mother to visit. But there was a change in plans (Pat’s) and it was decided they would come over on Sunday.

Sunday:

The morning was rough; for me at least. Amelia was up at 6:30am and it was my turn to tend to her in the morning so Greg could sleep in. I got up easy enough, but I was still very sleepy and exhausted feeling. TMI, but this cycle was a nightmare for me; it drained me of energy, made me more cranky and just all around grumpy; Plus it gave me the worst lower back pain for 4 whole days – even the hydrocodine from the dentist didn’t have an effect on the pain. I was miserable. So, when Greg woke up around 8am I went back to bed.

Ever have one of those days when it feels like time isn’t moving at all; every time you look at the clock, only 5 minutes went by? Well, that was Sunday morning. Amelia was cranky and fought off her nap for as long as possible, I was cranky for obvious reasons, and the combo of the two wasn’t very good. Greg was a good guy and finished all the cleaning and vacuuming of the condo. He’s such a great husband and father.

Anyway, around 3:30 everyone shows up and we play catch-up with each other. Not too long, we break out the Wii and start playing some games (Wii Play, Wii Sports, and Smash Bros.). I let the boys play and watched. Amelia and Grandma K we’re having their own fun:

Amelia and Grandma K

Amelia and Grandma K

Greg and his brothers playing the Wii

Greg and his brothers playing the Wii

**I know. I totally need to hang up some wall art. Darn those cathedral ceilings**

Greg’s Mom and brother Ken (the one in the white shirt) left around 6:30pm. Pat stayed a couple more hours and we chatted about his plans while he’s home, his adventures over-seas, and more childhood stories (which are always the best to hear).

As Pat was getting ready to leave, I decided to take a few pictures of the two (and one we me and Pat):

Greg and Pat *trying* to look serious

Greg and Pat *trying* to look 'serious'

We Mean Business!

We Mean Business!

The boys had a little fun with their photo shoot.

Me and My brother-in-law

Me and My brother-in-law

**yeah, I’m a little blurry ’cause Greg didn’t adjust the focus/depth of field properly**

Anyway, once Pat left Greg and I talked a little more and then I started uploading pictures on to Flickr, got in the shower and then went to bed. I was sleep around 10:30pm; it was an early night for me.

2 thoughts on “Friends & Family

  1. Those crabs look huge!

    Also that pic of Michele and you hugging is cute.

    Anyway, I love weekends like the one you had — just catching up with friends and family. Even if you don’t do anything out of the ordinary, it’s still fun and special because it’s quality time spent together.

  2. Those crabs look huge!

    Also that pic of Michele and you hugging is cute.

    Anyway, I love weekends like the one you had — just catching up with friends and family. Even if you don’t do anything out of the ordinary, it’s still fun and special because it’s quality time spent together.

Leave a Reply

