down with the sickness

something invaded my body yesterday afternoon.

it started as a sore throut around lunch time. by 3pm I was freezing. by 7pm (i was still at work) i was shivering. when i left work at 745 and got into my car… it felt so good to sit in a car that had its windows up all day, it was nice and warm. I didnt even roll down my windows, turn on the fan, or turn on the ac.

last time i felt like this was when i was pregnant and ended up going to the hospital to be dx with pneumonia.

when I got home, I took my temp and it was 101.2. A few hours later it was 102.3. a few more hours it was 103. my temp kept climbing dispite our efforts to reduce it.

all the while I lay in bed, buried under the covers in hopes to “sweat it out” but i would never sweat. Instead, i am left with a nasty, wicked, headache that even tylenol would’t touch.

around 1130 i call my brother to give him a heads up that if greg and i decide to go to the hospital we will need him to come over and stay the night (to watch amelia).

sleeping was hit or miss. I was constantly waking up and going to the bathroom (which i never do during the night and I was drinking water to cause this), or just trying to get comfortable.

eventually, the alarms go off and greg takes my temp: 102.3. still have a fever, still have a wicked headache, still feel like shit. I call my supervisor to inform her that I am not coming in.

amelia senses something is up and becomes a little fussy, especially when we dont let her get close to me. so, i just hold her hand. then she ever so slowly, and nondiscreetly, starts inching her way to me. and before we know it she laying right on top of me, literally.

Greg takes care of amelia as i fade in and out of sleep. before i know it, its time for them to go. we say our good byes and i am left alone.

I got off the couch, went into the kitchen, made a glass of water and two of the hydrocodine from the dentist. I go into the bedroom, close the blinds and go back to bed. I slept until 130, when my cell phone went off. apparently i missed a lot of calls, mostly from greg. I called him back, just before he was about to leave work to come check on me.

I fade into sleep off and on throughout the day. this is the longest I’ve been awake since 830 last night (blogging from the cell cause i am till in bed).

my throat still huts and i feel another headache brewing. I still dont know what caused this sudden fever, especially since ive been on antibiotics for a week now (unless i caught something viral).

who knows.

6 thoughts on “down with the sickness

  1. Yikes dude, I’m sorry you’re feeling like hell. That’s no fun, especially when there’s kids around and needy and all that good stuff. I hope you feel better real soon!

  2. Yikes dude, I’m sorry you’re feeling like hell. That’s no fun, especially when there’s kids around and needy and all that good stuff. I hope you feel better real soon!

Leave a Reply

