Meatloaf, the other hamburger

I felt like doing something different for dinner tonight, so while we were at Costco’s I picked up their basil pesto sause with a meal in mind: Meatloaf.

I’ve never made meatloaf before.  Sad, I know.

My Mom used to make this really good meatloaf when I was younger and she used pesto sause and those fried onion crunchies usually used in greenbean casserol; and that was my inspiration.

The prep is easy; put all the ingredients together in a bowl (2 eggs, about 2 – 2.5lbs of meat; seasoned bread crumbs, a few shakes of dried onion flakes, and 1.5 heaping spoonfuls of pesto sauce) and mix with your hands; once well mixed, place in loaf pan then place pan in a 350 degree oven and wait about an hour (or more).

All the ingrediants

All the ingredients

Going in the oven

Going in the oven

I didn’t let the meatloaf cook completely in the loaf pan. After about an hour, the meatloaf was still raw-ish in the middle so I took it out of the pan and placed it on the broiler pan for the fat to drip and to get a nice crust all around the meatloaf.

Yummy Crunchy Meatloaf

Yummy Crunchy Meatloaf

On a whem Greg decided to season the green beans, so he looked up a receipe online and we tried it out.

Gregs green bean creation

Greg's green bean creation

The green beans were cooked in olive oil (and I think a little butter) with onion and garlic salt, the same seasoned bread crumbs used in the meat loaf, and fried onions.

Delicious dinner

Delicious dinner

I found a box of stuffing mix so I made that as our starch. I contemplated making a gravy with the fat drippings from the meatloaf but the meatloaf didn’t need any sause or anything; the flavor was great and the meatloaf was moist. And, dinner was delicious!

When I told Greg what I wanted to make for dinner, he gave me a little flak. He informed me that he’s very picky about his meatloaf. And you know what, he LOVED my meatloaf and finished his plate long before I did; he couln’t get enough. And, I got him to try something new: Pesto Sauce on meatloaf.

4 thoughts on “Meatloaf, the other hamburger

  1. I love a good meatloaf, do you ever put a sauce on yours?

    If you ever get a hankerin’ to try it with sauce, mix about a cup and a half of ketchup, a few tablespoons of brown sugar and some Tabasco sauce (not too much if you don’t like it real hot), mix it all together and put it on before baking. It’s GOOD!!!! Sweet with a little hot. Yum!

  2. I love a good meatloaf, do you ever put a sauce on yours?

    If you ever get a hankerin’ to try it with sauce, mix about a cup and a half of ketchup, a few tablespoons of brown sugar and some Tabasco sauce (not too much if you don’t like it real hot), mix it all together and put it on before baking. It’s GOOD!!!! Sweet with a little hot. Yum!

  3. Sauce as in ketchup? Usually, yes, but since this meatloaf had such a good flavor from the pesto sauce and was still moist, I didn’t add any ketchup.

    Interesting sauce recipe you have there, Tiz. I might have to try that out next time.

    P.S. I love Tabasco sauce, especially the Chipolte one.

  4. Sauce as in ketchup? Usually, yes, but since this meatloaf had such a good flavor from the pesto sauce and was still moist, I didn’t add any ketchup.

    Interesting sauce recipe you have there, Tiz. I might have to try that out next time.

    P.S. I love Tabasco sauce, especially the Chipolte one.

Leave a Reply

