Amelia’s First Trip to Ocean City, MD

**yes, I’ve finally posted the long awaited beach trip**

This summer we, along with my Mom, took Amelia to Ocean City, MD. Her very first beach trip. Since my Mom had Amelia (babysitter was in the Bahama’s), Greg and I were able to leave extra early to do a few things before we went back into ‘parental mode’.

I believe we left around 7:30am. We wanted to get a head start in case we ran into Annapolis traffic. I packed a pillow, took two pain meds, and slept the entire way to Bridgeville, De. where our first stop was breakfast at Sonic, where we tried their new breakfast sandwich, Super Sonic Breakfast Toaster:

Bacon, Egg, & Cheese Breakfast Toaster

Bacon, Egg, & Cheese Breakfast Toaster

The sandwich is huge! I had a little difficulty eating it because I couldn’t open my jaw as big as it needed to take a real bite, so I was nibbling the sandwich.

Greg loves fast food breakfast (good thing we don’t eat fast food very often) and had the Toaster sandwich and another sandwich, Sonic’s version of an McMuffin:

Sonics version of the McMuffin

Sonic's version of the McMuffin

And one can’t go to Sonic without trying a new drink (while ordering the usual). Greg ordered an Orange Cream Slushie and it was amazing! It tasted like an Orange Julius and a cremsicle blended together. It was fantastic.

Sonics Orange Cream Slushie

Sonic's Orange Cream Slushie

And, we ordered our usual: Cherry Limeade.

Sonics Cherry Limeaide

Sonic's Cherry Limeade

After breakfast we were on the road again. I called Mom to see where she was and to figure out where we were going to meet. Turns out Mom was at least an hour behind us and we were about 30-40 minutes away from Ocean City, so we were in no hurry.

The drive was uneventful. It was cloudy and over casted with a little rain.

Eventually, we make it to Ocean City. We drive by the Lighthouse, where we stayed for our one year anniversary, and decided to stop by the off-the-road park by the bridge. When we got to the pier I saw 3 boats out with para-sailors.

There are 2 para-sailors in the picture; theyre just hard to find

There are 2 para-sailors in the picture; they're just hard to find

It started to rain a little while we were out there and the lighting wasn’t in our favor for picture taking, so we didn’t hang around too long. I did snag a picture of Greg and me:

Jess & Greg, OC 2008

Jess & Greg, OC 2008

Then it was back to the car. I called my Mom to get her location and to decide where to meet. By now it’s about 10:30-11:00am. It was decided to meet at the beaches at Assateague Island. The drive to Assateague Is. is about 20-30 minutes (depending on whose driving and what you’re driving behind). We passed the really unique trees that I like:

Taken Feb 2008 Taken in February 2008
Taken July 2008 Taken in July 2008

I don’t know what it is, but there is something so neat (to me) about that tree line.

Greg and I arrive at Assateague Is. and we were told that the beach was closed, due to a *possible* thunderstorm, but should be reopened within the next 15 minutes. We were like “ok” because we haven’t heard any thunder today and didn’t know that a beach would actually be closed. Either way, it struck us as odd. Oh, and it took F-O-R-E-V-E-R to get through the line (via car) to pay the admittance fee for the park; seriously, how difficult is it to hand a guy $6? So, Greg and I park and start to unload our items and change into our swim suits as we wait for my Mom. After about 15-20 minutes I spot my Mom in the line and it takes her about 15-20 to get through; it was really annoying.

Finally! We’re all together and at THE BEACH! I was getting pretty antsy (and annoyed) and ready to just grab Amelia and head to the beach. But no. Mom had so many things that she had to have on the beach. So, we collect all the items, wait for Mom to get into her swim suit, and then we’re walking up the hill to the beach!

We (read: Greg) carried Amelia up the hill. When we were out of the way of people traffic, we put Amelia down to walk. It was so funny! She didn’t know what to do about the sand between her toes or how to walk in the sand, muchless. we had to coax her and show her that it was safe and OK, then she got the hang of it.

We picked our spot and made camp.

Amelia at the Beach

Amelia at the Beach

Greg immediately began taking pictures; as you can see. I took a few pictures of Amelia on the beach and then she and I headed to the water!

Amelias first step into the Atlantic Ocean

Amelia's first step's to the Atlantic Ocean

Amelia testing out the water

Amelia testing out the water

It didn’t help that the water was actually cold (or chilly) and the weather wasn’t as hot or humid (which would have made the cold water feel nice).

Mom joined Amelia and I in testing out the water:

Amelia chasing the water

Amelia chasing the water

We didn’t stay down at the water too long due to the water temperature (for Amelia) and headed back to camp and played in the sand for a little while:

Amelia jumping in the sand

Amelia jumping in the sand

Amelia sitting in the sand

Amelia sitting in the sand

Amelia sitting on Daddys back

Amelia sitting on Daddy's back

Amelia and MiMaw having a snack

Amelia and MiMaw having a snack

After a couple of hours we were ready to check into our hotel room, drop off everything, and walk the boardwalk. So, we start to pack up camp and head back to the cars. But, before we left we took a few family pictures:

The S. Family

The S. Family

Three Generations

Two Generations

Mother and Daughter

Mother and Daughter

As Mom was going through her trunk looking for an outfit to change Amelia into a wild pony decided to help out:

Assateague Pony helping pick an outfit for Amelia

Assateague Pony helping pick an outfit for Amelia

Checking through all the bags

Checking through all the bags

It was kind of cool to have these two ponies visit us; but I was also a little apprehensive. After all, these are wild ponies, and just like any animal, are unpredictable. So, I snagged a few pictures while Greg dressed Amelia and kept her away from the horses.

I think he wants to come home with us

I think he wants to come home with us

Nope. He just wanted Amelias graham crackers

Nope. He just wanted Amelia's graham crackers

Not too long after these two ponies showed up, a small herd (of about six ponies) showed up!

Small herd of ponies

and one of the brown ponies started to fend off the herd by bucking and kicking (and pooping)! I was worried that Greg’s car, Mom’s car, or the car next to us was going to get kicked and damaged! Thankfully, the herd didn’t fight back and nothing really happened.

After the excitement from the ponies we were on our way to the hotel and to head to the boardwalk. The hotel room was par to our needs and expectations and not really worthy of pictures (shocking, I know). We drop off our bags, change, and head out to the boardwalk. We decide to walk while we wait for the tram, since there really isn’t a schedule. We didn’t have a destination in mind and decided to pick the first restaurant that we saw worth interest. Yeah, that didn’t work out too well, no one cared what the other wanted to eat or where to eat and it was getting on my nerves (can we say PMS?), plus Amelia’s diaper decides to break and we didn’t have a back-up (because we just changed her and knew we’d only be out for a few hours and I’m one of those “less is more” – the less to carry the more happier I’ll be – people. So, Greg goes all the way back to the hotel for a diaper and it took nearly a half hour. And, wouldn’t you know it, Amelia didn’t pee until Greg was about 15 feet from reaching us! Thankfully, her shirt also worked as a dress so all was well. So, back to dinner. Out of pure frustration I selected the first restaurant that I saw: Mug & Mallet.

Mug & Mallet

Mug & Mallet

We ordered an assortment of items for the four of us. Dinner was… eh at best. I’m pretty certain we won’t be visiting this restaurant again. And, apparently this is something new, but they, the restaurant, started ADDING and 18% gratuity to ALL checks; so we feel like the servers don’t really have to work for their tip since the know it’s going to be included. And, the reason we won’t be returning is because of the service! Our server had to be reminded of orders we placed and never brought out Amelia’s water (even after 2 requests). So, … yeah… no more Mug & Mallet for us. But, here are pictures of our food, which was alright:

Moms Shrimp

Mom's Shrimp

BBQ Wings, Grilled Salmon, & Steamed Crabs

BBQ Wings, Grilled Salmon, & Steamed Crabs

Steamed Crabs, Grilled Chicken, and Amelias kiddie meal

Steamed Crabs, Grilled Chicken, and Amelia's kiddie meal

Amelia had fun while we were at the restaurant:

Future Pole Dancer

Future Pole Dancer

But, then again, she always has fun when we’re out.

Once we were done with dinner, we headed over to the games and ride section of the Boardwalk. We wanted to put Amelia on a few rides because one can’t come to Ocean City and not ride the rides on the Boardwalk!

We only put Amelia on two rides, a flying doggie and Carousel:

Amelias First Ride

Amelia's First Ride

Amelia on the Carousel

Amelia on the Carousel

As you can see, Amelia wasn’t too thrilled about the rides and that is why we stopped at two.

It was pretty warm in the ride area (it is indoors), so we headed outside and back towards the hotel since it was getting close to Amelia’s bedtime. On our way back, Mom and I talked about going on the “Sling Shot”:

Sling Shot

Sling Shot

Where two people sit in this ball and then you’re flung into the air; kind of like a reverse bungee jump + being in a steel ball.  The only reason Mom and I didn’t get on the ride was the cost, $20 per person. Otherwise, we would have been on it and I would have more interesting pictures and probably a video clip to share at this part of the story.

We were lucky enough to catch the Tram early on the Boardwalk and rode it the rest of the way to the hotel:

Sun setting behind the Boardwalk sign

Sun setting behind the Boardwalk sign

Amelia attacking the bag of Cotton Candy

Amelia attacking the bag of Cotton Candy

We get to the hotel and decompress. When we arrived, there was a lot of smoke coming out of one of the rooms at the hotel net to us; then the firetrucks arrive!

Firetrucks in the alley

Firetrucks in the alley

We never really knew what happened.

It’s been a long day. Mom does a little shopping, Greg runs out to the store to pick up milk for Amelia, and some aloe gel because we are burnt, and Amelia and I just hang out in the hotel room. This girl fought off sleep until 9pm! Greg returns to the hotel only to have to go back out because he left his cell phone at one of the convenience stores (they called me and I missed the call, so I call Greg back and another girl answered the phone – throwing me off guard. I asked who this was and it was then that I was told that the phone was found in the parking lot. Later, it was learned that the only reason it was found was because Pat, Greg’s brother, was calling him and someone saw the phone lighting up. Greg was lucky that there are still honest people out there). So Mom returns and we hang out on the balcony just talking about the days events and some other topics.

Evening on the Balcony

Evening on the Balcony

After about 15 minutes she heads into the room and goes to bed. Not to long after, Greg returns and we get back into our swimsuits and head out to the pool. The outdoor pool was cold. But, we were alone. I adjusted to the water but Greg never did, so we went inside to swim in the indoor pool, which wasn’t empty and was only five feet deep. We only hung out at the pool for about a half hour. We get back the hotel room, Mom is sound alseep and Amelia was in a deep sleep. We get undressed, drown each other in aloe gel and go to bed. Sleep wasn’t as good as we hoped; we already missed our bed.

The following morning, Mom waked up around 5:30am and heads down to the beach to get pictures of the sunrise. Greg was going to go with her, but the morning was so foggy, he didn’t feel the pictures would turn out well, so he didn’t go. Mom was able to get a few good ones.

Around 7am Amelia wakes up:

Amelia. Always a morning person

Amelia. Always the morning person.

We take our time getting up and adjusting to our sunburns and being in ‘parental mode’ again. Mom was still outside, somewhere on the beach. Eventually, around 7:30, she comes back and says she’s going to set up camp because spots are going quick. She comes back around 8:30 and takes Amelia to the beach. Greg and I pack up the room and head upstairs to the, paid, breakfast buffet. Totally not worth the $28 we paid. I was rather upset about the lack of food and the high cost; I was in real PMS mode by this point.

So, Greg takes all the bags to the cars and completes the check out while I head over to the beach to find Mom. I really had a no patience by this point; even the sand was pissing me off. But, I suck it up and try to make the best of it.

The morning was still really foggy:

Our Hotel, from the beach.

Our Hotel, from the beach.

The water was still cold (and I wasn’t expecting it to be warmer) and the tide was way out. I’ve never seen the tide so far out at Ocean City, so it was kinda neat to me.

We chased Amelia all over the beach.

Amelia running into the water

Amelia running into the water

Amelia kicking the water

Amelia kicking the water

Amelia watching the water

Amelia watching the water

Me. Taking a break and probably getting all the sand off of me.

Me. Taking a break and probably getting all the sand off of me.

I was only knocked down by one wave and I didn’t loose my glasses.

By noon-ish I was done. I was very irritable; in pain from both the tooth and the sunburn; and just wanted to get out of the sand. I know my Mom wanted to stay longer, and I would have but at another time. Greg and I wanted to take Mom out to lunch, but again, no one could think of a place and Mom was like “I don’t care, you pick” which just irritated me. So, we head back to the hotel to rinse off with their little hose thing, Mom goes in and changes and I take Amelia into the restroom and rinse her off in the sink and change her. I didn’t get to rinse off and I got to change ALL of my clothes in the stairwell of the parking garage. Yes, I got buck-nekkid, in public. And I didn’t care if someone saw me.

The plan was to spot a restaurant on the way home, the first one either of us found of interest. Didn’t happen. Mom ended up stopping at all the roadside veggie stands and antique shops, while Greg drove and Amelia and I slept. We did stop in Easton, when Amelia woke up, for a potty break and lunch at a Dairy Queen.

We were home around 4pm and I immediately started on the laundry.

I did a lot of Twitter’ing during the trip; figured I’d try it out since I’ve been a member for sometime (although I didn’t start ‘using’ it until May).

2 thoughts on “Amelia’s First Trip to Ocean City, MD

  1. I knew about your poor tooth but in the second trip to the beach pic the first thing I noticed was your sunburn! YOUCH!!!! It sounds like over all you had a good time (minus the pms’ing. lol)

    Amelia is such a cutie, but damn 7am comes way too fast, especially when you’re staying in a motel!

  2. And whats worse is her getting up at 7am was LATE!! She’s usually up between 6-6:30 e.v.e.r.y.d.a.y. and Greg and I are NOT morning people; especially while on vacation!

    Yeah, sunburn was pretty wicked by Day 2. All healed and peeled now.

Leave a Reply

