Stuck

I am stuck.

I am stuck with lack of ideas and decisions.

And it’s all wedding related.

I’ve been thinking about the wedding and how I want to do something extra special for Greg; albeit a gift from the heart and/or something quirky that totally relates to us and our unique relationship and soon marriage.

Earlier tonight I was on eBay checking out the most recent sale I placed for my step-dad and decided to look up something: Wedding Garters.

I’ve mentioned before how Greg is a “leg man” and loves thigh-highs and garters. Well, just out of curiosity, because we all know everything exists on eBay, I looked up “Baltimore Oriole Garter” and found this:

Possible Garter

Possible Garter

There are many other styles as well, but I liked this one the most – not too O’s flashy. I’m thinking about buying it, but haven’t made up my mind just yet.

The second item on my brain is a wedding present for Greg. I want to get him something that will make his heart melt and just overwhelm him with such love and emotion; I want to be able to show him how much he means to me; something that will give him the emotions that I feel for him.

I don’t want to give him something… ‘standard’, like cuff links or a really nice watch (which neither would apply anyway since he never wears a suit and I bought him a nice watch a couple birthdays ago). I don’t want to give him a piece of paper that says “The day I married you, the day all my dreams came true” or something cheesy and cliché.

I need something that will connect his heart to my heart, always and forever (aside from Amelia).

And, I am stuck.

This has got to be the hardest thing I’ve had to think about (well, aside from when I learned I was pregnant… but I think this is harder).

Greg is the easiest person to shop for when it comes to Birthday’s and Christmas; I have a flood of gift ideas! But, this… something from my heart to his… is tough. And, I don’t want this gift to just be a material object, like a new lens; yes, he would love it to bits, he would use it constantly, but it doesn’t show it comes from my heart.

Greg doesn’t wear jewelery (not yet at least – wedding ring), and I thought about getting his wedding band engraved with something that only he and I will understand (such as “Want to have spaghetti tonight?” – because for a few weeks, that became our thing), but I’ve been told it’s time consuming to engrave a Tungsten band (it would take too long to get his ring engraved, in order for us to have it in time for the wedding).

I’ve been on the message boards and asked around what others are doing and it seems the general consensus is “bedroom pictures”. Which got me to wondering: Do women not play “dress up” in front of the camera with their significant other? Greg and I are much more open minded, I guess, when it comes to… bedroom stuff. Anyway, learning about that, the BD pictures that most other ‘B2B’ (brides to be), are doing as a wedding gift, struck odd with me.

Which brings me back to where I was before: stuck.

4 thoughts on “Stuck

  1. Well, someone I know gave her hubby-to-be a weekend gift package to wine country (he’s really into wine). Another friend gave her significant other golf lessons because he wanted to get into golf. Is there a hobby other than picture taking where you could get him a gift certificate for a store/place he would get the ‘tools’ for whatever hobby that is or lessons or something like that?

    While those kinds of gifts are “material”, they at least show that you’re thinking about him and his interests.

    But perhaps you’ve thought of these things already.

    Could you make him something? I don’t know what you could make, but that’s a thought…

    I guess if you’re thinking of something more ‘romantic’ the bedroom pics are the way to go…

  2. Well, someone I know gave her hubby-to-be a weekend gift package to wine country (he’s really into wine). Another friend gave her significant other golf lessons because he wanted to get into golf. Is there a hobby other than picture taking where you could get him a gift certificate for a store/place he would get the ‘tools’ for whatever hobby that is or lessons or something like that?

    While those kinds of gifts are “material”, they at least show that you’re thinking about him and his interests.

    But perhaps you’ve thought of these things already.

    Could you make him something? I don’t know what you could make, but that’s a thought…

    I guess if you’re thinking of something more ‘romantic’ the bedroom pics are the way to go…

  3. I did think about having professional BD pictures done, but … even though they would be ‘tasteful’ and ‘classy’, they’re not something one displays above the fireplace.

    I’ve thought about making him something, but don’t know what I would make (unless I can come up with a video/computer game and create it); and I don’t want to make him a card as it falls under the ‘piece of paper’ thing that I’m not feeling.

    I truly am stuck. And, the only thing I come up with is something photography related (as it’s his biggest passion right now); which I will probably end of getting (especially that macro lens that I… err… he wants).

  4. I did think about having professional BD pictures done, but … even though they would be ‘tasteful’ and ‘classy’, they’re not something one displays above the fireplace.

    I’ve thought about making him something, but don’t know what I would make (unless I can come up with a video/computer game and create it); and I don’t want to make him a card as it falls under the ‘piece of paper’ thing that I’m not feeling.

    I truly am stuck. And, the only thing I come up with is something photography related (as it’s his biggest passion right now); which I will probably end of getting (especially that macro lens that I… err… he wants).

Leave a Reply

