Beautiful Monday

Training starts early

Training starts early

That is probably my favorite picture of the day, followed closely by this one:

Family

Family

We had an amazing day today! The weather was perfect, the scenery was perfect, the drive was (almost) perfect… really, the whole day was perfect!

We did A LOT of walking; there are A LOT of trails and Amelia had A LOT of energy (and she didn’t nap AT ALL until we were leaving; I don’t know where that energy came from) so Greg and I were chasing her every where.

The park is surprisingly small; the map that we printed off the internet is highly exaggerated (with distance)!

We checked out both overlooks, Hawk Point and Wissler Run

There were no warning signs that Wissler Run was a serious (well, not major serious) walk – down hill on rough terain, whereas Hawk Point was all paved and easy to get to. And, wouldn’t you know it, we went to Hawk Point first so we were unprepared for Wissler Point. So, without further adieu, here are the pictures of the day:

View from Hawk Point Overlook

View from Hawk Point Overlook

another View from Hawk Point Overlook

another View from Hawk Point Overlook

I can understand why the state made Hawk Point as its priority, and easily accessible, overlook – the view was amazing and nearly uninterrupted by the nuclear power plant.

Wissler Point… beautiful in its own way:

Wissler Point has a great view of the industrial aspect of the nuclear power – ish. And, like I mentioned, it’s not easily accessible as Hawk Point; it’s a steep-ish and a bumpy walk.

Once we collected our shots, we began the journey back to the car. The journey down was steep and we know going back the way we came in was going to be rough (on us). So, I suggested we try one of the many trails that I noticed on the way down as our means to get out and back to the car. Well, neither one of us had the map with us so we didn’t know which trail lead to where. So, we winged (wung?) it. The trail we choose, which said it was ‘easy’, started out nice enough, but then it went up… nearly straight (possible slight exaggeration) up and it but a burn on our thigh muscles – hence the name of the trail: Fire Trail (in my opinion).

Entering the trail

Entering the trail

I know the picture doesn’t look steep, but it was. And, this was taken midway up the trail.

Needless to say, by the time we made it out of the woods, we were exhausted and ready to head home. But, here are a few more pictures from the park:

Amelia on the tire swing

Amelia on the tire swing

Amelia telling me to sit down (at the table)

Amelia telling me to sit down (at the table)

Amelia *trying* to climb the fence

Amelia *trying* to climb the fence

Lunch Time

Lunch Time

Once we were in the car, Amelia was out for the count in a matter of minutes; I don’t think we were even out of the park before she was asleep.

The only part of the day trip that wasn’t so perfect was the drive out of PA. I got stuck behind three tractors (two separate times) that didn’t go over 25mph – and the speed limits were 55mph! It was a little… frustrating for me… mostly because there are a lot of hills and I drive a manual transmission, so I was constantly switching from 2nd to 3rd gear as the tractor would slow down and then speed up. Thankfully, there were no stop lights on these hills otherwise I may have rolled into the person behind me because he was up on my ass the whole freakin time!

Anyway, the rest of the drive was uneventful; even all of I-95!

We make it to Greg’s Mom’s place around 4pm and have our ice cream social. As I mentioned, Pat, Greg’s middle brother, is leaving tomorrow for Texas, where he’ll begin his 41 weeks of training (some medical engineering job). Oh, and he’s driving to TX, after all, in the last 3.5 weeks, he’s already driven to Michigan and North Carolina.

The time flew by and before we know it, it’s almost 7pm and we need to get Amelia fed, bathed, and in bed. On the way home, we stopped at Border’s to look for a specific book, Photoshop Elements 5, only to learn that it was recently pulled off the shelves by the publisher (because Elements 6 was released and they are planning on releasing 7 soon, therefor 5 is considered outdated). Oh well, guess we’ll buy the book of Amazon.

So, there you have it. This was how we spent our Monday, Labor Day.

The clock says it’s 10:55pm, but it doesn’t feel that late, and yet it does. Darn mental and physical exhaustion!

My new camera should be in tomorrow (it was shipped on Friday), and if it is… it will make my week so much better! I am already dreading going into work tomorrow – even if it’s a short week. I’m really hoping all the drama from Hurricane Gustav won’t lead to crazy people calling the company (and I have no idea what it was like post Katrina). Crossing my fingers that it’s a quiet week… yeah right.

Leave a Reply

