!*&$^@

Greg and I are having a heated debate over airfare.

We haven’t bought our tickets to Florida yet (for numerous reasons), but we’ve been following the prices – which are starting to come down, sorta – and Greg is telling me that I’ve been spoiled with my previous experiences with airfare, and that I need to come back to reality and accept that $600, round trip, for two people is cheap. $600, for anything related to traveling 5 states, isn’t cheap in my book.

Yes, Greg has a valid point that I’ve been incredibly lucky, fortunate, providential, etc. by paying less than $100, per person (excluding airport fees and taxes) for round trip tickets in my past (two round trip tickets to Rhode Island cost me $180, and the two round trip tickets to Michigan cost us $240)…

BUT!! I can NOT ACCEPT that it is going to cost us, if we’re lucky, at least $600 to fly out to Miami/Ft. Lauderdale!! I would rather DRIVE!

Which leads us into another debate!!

Greg feels that I will not survive the time in the car if we were to drive, given my extremely short attention span and lack of patience (when it comes to car rides). I’ve only had one bad-ish car experience with Greg and that was when we drove to Atlantic City, NJ to celebrate my 27th birthday and I had a very valid reason for being cranky: I was on my period – after not having a period for 6 months – so, it was an unwelcome surprise, to say the least

(PS. the following month is when I became pregnant)

Greg has taken a few roads trips in his past – the longest I believe was from Oregon to Alabama when he was a kid; so he’s used to long car rides. I grew up in DC where there were metro bus stops all over the place; no long car rides for me.

Greg is dead set on believing I will make this road trip a living nightmare. That I will not be a happy camper. That I will not make the best of it. That I will not like it.

I told him that he can not make such a decision/judgement about me, especially since I’ve never experienced a road trip of such magnitude, and that he’s basing his opinion on ONE BAD (and small) trip that we took together while I was… physically (I count being on my period as something physical) ill (and not to mention in a lot of pain). Plus, given the significance of this trip, that alone will give me the mental (and emotion will power) strength to do this.

Greg is just as stubborn as I am; so we’re both being… oh, how do you say…. jerks… about our opinions of the drive to Miami.

My compromise for the airfare was to find something that was less than $450 (total cost). I can, and will, accept that rate. So, tonight begun, yet another, great search for airfare…

yay.

And, I am disappointed to say that the cheapest rate we could find was $510 (through jetBlue), but we don’t even want that flight because of the layover in NY (in the winter. with a high probability of a long, long, delay), so the next best rate was $530 (I know, not that horrible), which would be a direct flight to Miami (oh, and from AirTran). Now, the only ‘issue’ with the direct flight, is that it’s leaving from an airport that is about 2 hours away from us, vs. the airport that is about 15 minutes from us. And, yes, there is a somewhat significant price difference between the two airports (more than $50 – and that is significant enough for me), and better yet… the flight leave at 6:10am; which would mean that we would have to check around 5am, at least. But, on the bright side, we would have an entire day to explore Miami (in Greg’s eyes).

So. This airfare nonesense is going to challenge me, speaking as politly as possible. I am going to be stalking every airliners website and search engine (travelocity, priceline, orbitz, etc) until I find a rate that I am satisfied with. I am going to be a bitch about my airfare. Greg should feel so lucky that this one issue is probably going to be the only issue that my inner bitch comes out (well, that’s not entirely true… the is one other ‘issue’, but it’s not worthy enough to write about on my weblog). My wrath will be felt, and heard, by someone somewhere. Consider yourself warned.

in other news…

Michele visited me for lunch yesterday and we spent the whole hour talking about her wedding. We looked through the invitation catalogs and picked out a few styles that she, and I, liked and how we could incorporate a theme into the wedding. Initially, she was feeling butterflies, but I’m not sure she is anymore.

Then we talked about wedding dresses (and she asked if I found/bought mine yet… and, well… we all know the answer to that question) and confirmed our plans for the 27th to meet at a bridal salon for our first dress trial. There’s going to be quite a few girls, about 5 I think, tagging along (and not counting Amelia. Greg will be tending to Amelia during this festivity). I’m excited though. This is going to be so much fun!

Also, on the 27th, we’re going to an O’s game! And, you wouldn’t believe how much the tickets cost (with the stupid surcharge from Ticketmaster)… $3!!! Awesome. And, the price includes a free tour of Camden Yards (during the off season)! Oh, and $1 hotdogs and drinks. But, I don’t like hotdogs, so that price doesn’t mean anything to me.

I was talking to my Mom earlier tonight and I suggested she call Grandma to start arguing over who is going to host Thanksgiving this year (Mom has a bigger house and is more ‘kid friendly’, but Grandma is old fashion and set in her ways about hosting such family gatherings). Can you believe that we’re rounding the final quarter of 2008?! This year has seriously flown by, in my opinion. On an odd note, I am so happy that Greg and I bought all out Christmas gifts for our families back in February, because that means the only shopping we’re going to do is for Amelia (we’re not going to exchange gifts this year due to cruise being 2.5 weeks after Christmas and 2.5 weeks before my 30th birthday – that and Amelia’s 2nd birthday in between), which is going to be so easy since she LOVES LOVES LOVES cows and baby dolls. At least for now.

Speaking of Amelia, she’s showing some interesting signs when it comes to music. She loves classical music. There is this one commercial that plays every now and then and as soon as she hears the music from this commercial, she will stop and drop anything and everything and go to the TV. Then there is this caterpillar toy that plays samples of popular classical songs and she will play those songs over and over and over. Then, there are her differences when it comes to playing with musical instruments (toy version of course). Recently, she fell in love with the harmonica and was really intrigued by it. Also, she enjoys playing with the quasi-toy piano at the babysitters; the babysitter has informed me that Amelia will actually touch the piano keys individually and in a manor as if she were actually playing from sheet music; rather than just pound on the keys as any other 20 month old would. I shared this information with my Mom and she was like “Oh!! You have to get Mimi a piano/keyboard!!!” I was like, no way because there is no room in our condo for a keyboard, muchless a piano. Yes, it would be nice to start playing again (I used to play the piano – not to any extent, but I did have a recital) as I miss playing some instrument (the trombone is still my favorite), but there is no space, muchless time, for such. Eventually, down the road, I would love to have Amelia take piano lessons (or any lesson for an musical instrument), and I really hope she has a musical talent/gift, and I really hope that I’m not hindering any remote possibilty of this talent/gift from developing, but we do not have the funds (and space) available to explore this interest – at least for now.

Ugh, I can’t believe I’ve stayed up this late (11:46pm)! Tomorrow is going to drag so much.

2 thoughts on “!*&$^@

  1. When Claude and I were toying with the idea of going to Vegas a few months back, we did the whole argueing thing over “to fly or to drive”, “airfare or gas”, then decided fuck it we weren’t gonna go at all! LOL

    It’s such a pain in the ass to deal with the airports, but it’s not exactly fun to sit in the car for days on end either…

    Good luck with that part! 🙂

    As far as Amelia goes, I’d just expose her to as many genres of music as possible and let her explore them all! I’ve grown to have such a vast taste in music that it’s insane!

  2. When Claude and I were toying with the idea of going to Vegas a few months back, we did the whole argueing thing over “to fly or to drive”, “airfare or gas”, then decided fuck it we weren’t gonna go at all! LOL

    It’s such a pain in the ass to deal with the airports, but it’s not exactly fun to sit in the car for days on end either…

    Good luck with that part! 🙂

    As far as Amelia goes, I’d just expose her to as many genres of music as possible and let her explore them all! I’ve grown to have such a vast taste in music that it’s insane!

Leave a Reply

