Complete(d) . . . Well, almost

Yes. I’ve actually completed the one, somewhat important, task on my to-do list:

I found my wedding dress!!

And, the best thing is – it’s not what I was looking for;  style, color, the whole package. And, I love that I can re-wear this dress for formal events (without it looking like a wedding dress).

Yes, Greg was with me as I was trying on dresses with my Mom and Cousin. So, he’s seen me in it. And, he, along with everyone else, LOVED IT. Color too.

I’m not worried about Greg seeing me in my wedding dress before our wedding; it would be impossible for him to not see it before the ceremony. So, I am saving the under garmets and honeymoon attire as the ‘surprise’.  Plus, he doesn’t know what I’ll look like once I have my hair and make-up done.

Now, with the finding of my wedding dress – I have to re-think my bouquet and Greg’s shirt!

I’m leaving it up to Greg (with a little nudging from me… ok, maybe a lot of nudging) to find his shirt.

I, on the other hand, am starting to get annoyed with myself. I have a mental image of what I want my bouquet to be (flower wise) and I am unable to locate that image (and me trying describe my image is… impossible). I’ve been search high and low, on the interwebs, for inspiration. I came across this statement on one fo the many websites: “Wedding flowers have elements that speak of your personality. Ha! That couldn’t have been spoken any more truer. I want my personality to shine through my flowers…, and, well, for my wedding.

So. I’ve spent the last 10 hours typing this entry, researching the web for new bouquet ideas, Greg’s new shirt, and baking cookies. Oh, and watching a few movies (A League of their Own, Legally Blonde, etc).

I’ve emailed my “florist” about my change in color scheme. Also, I mentioned to her that I want to add a photo charm, something like this, found on Etsy,:

I plan on adding a picture of Amelia to my bouquet.

Since finding, and buying, the wedding dress, I’ve become so freaking excited! It’s set things; like, this is really going to happen. I’m really going to get married. Albeit, this is my second marriage, this one is completely different. I can’t wait to be married to Greg; to be his wife.  Like I said, I am becoming uber excited!!

Continuing with the wedding talk, I believe I found a shirt for Greg:

It’s a pale yellow shit with what I believe is red (could be brown) embroidery. Either way, it goes great with the new theme!

As for flowers, here are a few styles I like:

Option 1:

I love the colors, but it doesn’t match my scheme. So, I would be changing the callas (I believe that’s what the dark purple flowers are) and the roses to deep red and pale yellow (don’t know which color would go to which flower).

Option 2:

The colors are good (a little less green and a little more red and yellow). I don’t care for the swirly things.

Option 3:

Perfect size, perfect flowers! Just need to change the colors.

Those are the three examples I sent to my “florist” (by the way, I am ordering my flowers from an Etsy seller. She makes “silk” (they’re actually “new generation” flowers) flowers as a part time thing. Her portfolio is amazing. I’m going to refer her to Michele because Michele wants to use silk flowers for her wedding as well). When she replied to an earlier email, she got what I was going for; her words were “It looks like maybe you love it when that dark color “pops” out at you.” If you look at the first two bouquets… she nailed it. The bouquet is going to cost $60 (plus shipping), all within my budget! Plus, the flowers are going to last a life time (I hope) and I get to re-use them for the wedding reception later in the year!

Greg won’t admit it, but he’s getting excited too.

2 thoughts on “Complete(d) . . . Well, almost

  1. How exciting! That photo charm thing is a really cute idea.

    About the bouquet — I kind of like the second one minus those swirly things. Maybe white flowers would really make the color of your dress ‘pop’. Plus the flowers in that bouquet go well with a beachy theme. But you, like you said, the flowers have to ‘speak’ to your personality.

    The big day will be here before you know it! 🙂

  2. How exciting! That photo charm thing is a really cute idea.

    About the bouquet — I kind of like the second one minus those swirly things. Maybe white flowers would really make the color of your dress ‘pop’. Plus the flowers in that bouquet go well with a beachy theme. But you, like you said, the flowers have to ‘speak’ to your personality.

    The big day will be here before you know it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

