Big Night

Tonight is a big night; we learn who the next US President is going to be.

Did I vote? Nope. Not even registered to vote, and I don’t plan on changing that.

*I know some of you are probably shaking your heads right now*

But, I am curious to see how everything turns out.

If you’re curious, if I were to vote I would have voted for Obama. Not for his plans to change the current state of the US, but because he did not ‘attack’ McCain as McCain attacked Obama. In my opinion, Obama ‘played nice’.

On a side note, I realized over the weekend, while in Target, that Greg and I are getting married on Inauguration Day. We were walking past the card isle and I saw a card, in big bold numbers, “1-20-09” and it caught my attention, so I picked up the card only to learn that it was about the upcoming inauguration.  And, that’s how I learned I was getting married on Inauguration Day.

Work is going well; it’s been a little on the slow side so I am able to catch-up on a lot of older items, which is a relief.

I’ve been checking NCL’s website religiously to see if the fare has gone down on our cruise. No luck, yet.

I’m still debating if I want to wear something wedding related, like a veil or a shirt that says “bride” on it, on our way down to FL and then onto the cruise ship. Greg feels I’m being slightly child/self ish about this want, which is partially true, because I do want attention and to let everyone know what’s going on – and… maybe get some perks, like a free upgrade to first class from the airline and maybe some free drinks from the restaurant… who knows

Well, my lunch hour is over. Time to go back to work.

3 thoughts on “Big Night

  1. I admire your honesty in admitting that you’re not even registered to vote. But (and no offense meant here) I do hope that you will change that in the future! Or at least strongly consider exercising that right.

    All that aside, about ‘getting attention’ on the cruise. I’m sure there is a way (not sure how) you could do so tastefully. When we were in Hawaii, people just asked us if we were there on our honeymoon and when we told them we were there to get married and for our honeymoon, they’d treat us well. I’m guessing that cruise staff will be aware of people who are getting married or will ask you and treat you right!

  2. I admire your honesty in admitting that you’re not even registered to vote. But (and no offense meant here) I do hope that you will change that in the future! Or at least strongly consider exercising that right.

    All that aside, about ‘getting attention’ on the cruise. I’m sure there is a way (not sure how) you could do so tastefully. When we were in Hawaii, people just asked us if we were there on our honeymoon and when we told them we were there to get married and for our honeymoon, they’d treat us well. I’m guessing that cruise staff will be aware of people who are getting married or will ask you and treat you right!

  3. No offense, Kara. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and decisions.

    I already know the cruise has ordered us a cake for our room; that was exciting to hear!
    I guess what I was saying (but didn’t express very well) is… I was the extra “congratulations” and such, not so much material things. We’re eloping, so it’s not like I will have all my friends and family there to celebrate. I don’t know what I’m saying… I just want to feel extra special rather than “normal”

Leave a Reply

