Get to be a Kid Again

Is it sad, well sorta, that I can relive my favorite bits of childhood through my daughter? Well, what’s really sad is that I did all of this before she was born – like years before.

I am getting excited about the upcoming holidays, especially Christmas, and I am excited to share all the Christmas TV ‘traditions’ with Amelia, such as Rudolph the red-nosed Reindeer (loved the island of misfit toys); A Charlie Brown Christmas; and my all time favorite: A Christmas Story.

Also, I get to do a lot of coloring. And, I get excited to ‘shop’ for crayons, markers, colored pencils… I’ve always loved shopping for the stuff but never had a justifiable reason to buy any of it… now I do!

Today was productive… sorta. We bought some new shoes for Amelia – her feet grew a whole size up in the last few weeks!! We bought some sneakers and dress shoes for her photos next weekend. We also got Amelia’s hair cut; well, more of a trimming and to ‘fix’ what my Mom did (she has a thing for cutting kids hair – she did a lot of damage to me as a child… probably why I’m not interested in getting my hair cut or styled. I also did a little window shopping for some clothing for Greg’s company party (the following week after my company party) and for the cruise. I’m all about recyclable clothing so I’m looking for something I wear as a holiday dress and a cocktail dress – can’t go wrong with this:

And, believe it or not, I was looking for shoes! And, I hate shoe shopping (for me) – I hate wearing shoes for that matter. I don’t know what I am going to do in regard to shoes during the cruise; I know I can’t wear the same three pairs I’ve been wearing for nearly 2 years (yes, we’ve bought Amelia more pairs of shoes during the last 11 months than I’ve owned in the last 2 years). I think shoe shopping is going to be the only thing I am going to dread as Greg and I start to get ready for our cruise. Ugh, don’t even want to think about it anymore.

So, next weekend is our family Christmas pictures! I can’t wait. I just hope my cousin has called the place and made an appointment!! I called her yesterday and she’s yet to return my call – I’ll email her in the morning (or, maybe I could text her tonight).

I hope this week goes by fast; I hope the next 8 weeks go by fast (well sorta). I’m excited about Christmas and Amelia’s birthday (I can’t believe she’s turning 2) – although we don’t have anything planned to celebrate her birthday yet, nor anything planned to celebrate my 30th (although I’ve been heavily hinting for an iPhone – especially since Greg got to play with one and I know he wants one too).

2 thoughts on “Get to be a Kid Again

  1. Cute dress!

    I love those holiday shoes too. I watch A Charlie Brown’s Christmas every year. I should just get the DVD.

    And I like the luggage in the previous post too!

  2. Cute dress!

    I love those holiday shoes too. I watch A Charlie Brown’s Christmas every year. I should just get the DVD.

    And I like the luggage in the previous post too!

Leave a Reply

