First Day

Today was Amelia’s first day at the new daycare…

It wasn’t as hard as I thought it was going to be. I was expecting tears (either from her or me) and they didn’t happen.  Amelia gave me my morning hug and kiss good bye and then she was off playing. When I got into my car and looked up, I saw Amelia waving bye bye. I waved back and then I was off to work. Which, I might add, I was on time. Surprisingly.

I was ‘harrassed’ by my Mom and a fellow co-worker for not calling in and checking on Amelia during the morning. I know Amelia was in good hands and that she would adjust. But, to stop the nagging I called and checked in. She was doing great – even went pee pee on the potty! Twice!

I was the first one out the door at 5pm. It only took 10 minutes to get the daycare … for a 3.4 mile drive… pick-up was easy and the first question out of the daycare people were “She takes short naps?” Apparently, Amelia was the last one to fall asleep and the first one to wake up – about an hours nap. I don’t think the daycare people were expecting that. Amelia has a lot of energy and it takes a lot to wear her out (even today, she was up before 6:30am, had a one hour nap, and didn’t fall asleep until nearly 8:45pm).

This was also the first day that Greg and I’s routine changed. Since Day 1 of living together we’ve left for work together – that’s nearly 2 years of the same routine in the morning. It’s now changed. And, I believe, for the better. Greg is seriously considering a gym membership – he plans on using the extra time alone in the morning to go work out. Also, he can do the household chores (like taking the trash out; emptying the dishwasher; putting a load of laundry in, etc) and since I will be getting home an hour before him, I can get a head start on dinner.

Tonight’s dinner experiment turned out really good! I cut up some chicken breasts and seasoned them with Italian seasonings, minced onion, and garlic salt and cooked them in a pan. Then I took a Pillsbury Pizza Crust and put some spaghetti sauce in the center and mozzarella cheese, then I added the chicken and then closed the dough on the top and put a little olive oil on top and sprinkled some Parmesan cheese and mozzarella cheese; kind of like a Stromboli, but I called it my inside out chicken Parmesan. It was awesome. Greg had 2 servings and even Amelia was asking for me (which rarely happens!).

Small update tonight. I’m very sleepy and will be going to bed early tonight.

Leave a Reply

