Goal for 2012: Make Mimi a Big Sister

Yep.

That is my goal.

Amelia doesn’t know about this goal and I won’t tell her until I’ve achieved this goal; however, Greg and I, mostly I, have agreed to no longer ‘let nature take its course’ and attempt to get pregnant with a little medical assistance this year.

I had an appointment with my OB this afternoon and Greg attended the appointment with me (and was actually in the exam room the whole time – I’m so proud of him!). The doctor explained our options and how everything would work; she’s given us orders to have a few things examined – I get an ultrasound to check out my fallopian tubes and Greg gets a seaman analysis! Also, I’ve officially begun taking pre-natal vitamins!

I’ve told Greg that I don’t want to go through extreme infertility treatment, meaning I don’t want to go through IVF and such, and that if we don’t get pregnant this year then Amelia is going to be a single child. Greg and I aren’t getting any younger and I don’t want to be in my late 30’s having a second child. So, I’ve decided this is going to be the year and it’s all or nothing (within reason).

So, the plan of action is once our ‘tests’ have come back and we can rule out any ‘issues’, I’m going to take the medication called Clomid for 3-6 cycles. I had blood drawn last week, on the 3rd day of my cycle as requested, to check my hormone levels and the results were “textbook perfect”, so it’s a relief to know that that part of my reproductive system is working (at least for the last cycle).

How is Greg handling all this? Rather well. Of course, his main concern is money – in that we can afford to take care of another child (daycare and the such), but I explained that it’ll all work out. I don’t know how, or when, or even why, but it will. Besides, it’s not like the last time when we only had 5-6 weeks to prepare ourselves with the thought of becoming parents – we’ll have the whole nine months! Oh, and his second biggest worry is that I’ll get pregnant with twins or triplets!

The more I think about this adventure in expanding our family the more excited I become. Not just because we’re going to try to add a new baby and Amelia will finally get what she’s been wanting since she was two, but that we’ll have the whole nine months to do this together and that Greg will be there at the time of delivery. I feel bad that Greg missed Amelia’s birth and that this life changing event is something he should be a part of. I asked Greg earlier this evening if, when and if I become pregnant, he’d want to know the sex of the baby because a part of me doesn’t want to know. Greg wants to know.

So, there it is – I’ve put it in writing that Greg and I are seeking fertility assistance in attempts to get pregnant with our second child.

Leave a Reply

