Long Overdue

I am long overdue for an update. I have a lot to share: the gender of the baby, what Amelia has been up to (she’s completed 2 whole months of kindergarten!), Greg and the business we’ve started, and much more! But, let’s talk about baby!

First, a pregnancy survey update:

How far along: 31 weeks and 2 days

How big is baby: “He’s about 15.2 to 16.7 inches long and weighs about 2.5 to 3.8 pounds this month. He’s getting so big, he’s probably crowding your lungs.” (credit)

Total weight gain: a whopping 12 pounds!

Maternity clothes: I could use them, but I’m not buying them. Rather, I’m just going up a size or two in plus sizes

Sleep: I wish! It’s been so long since I’ve had a good nights sleep

Best moment of the week: Amelia finally got to feel the baby move from the outside (the baby isn’t active until later in the evening, usually when Amelia has already gone to bed)

Food cravings: Fried Onions (especially French’s Fried Onions) skittles

Food aversions: Poultry

Symptoms: extreme fatigue, achy hips, braxton-hicks contractions, moody

Movement: Lots!

Gender: It’s a GIRL

What I’m looking forward to: Our baby shower on 11/11

What I miss: a solid nights’ sleep, bending over without pain, sleep, sleep, more sleep

Next appt: it would be easier to say when I don’t have an appointment this month

A few weeks ago I had a growth scan. This scan was to make sure the baby wasn’t getting too big since I’ve been on insulin since the beginning of the pregnancy. While at the appointment I asked for a 3D image and this is what we got to see:

Baby girl looks just like her big sister! I’ve been searching for the 3D image I have of Amelia when I found out I was pregnant with her (nearly 6 years ago to the day!) so I can do a side-by-side comparison. I haven’t had much luck, so now I’m relying on Greg to find it for me…. which mean it could take years for it to happen.

The appointment told us that the baby is growing right on track. Initially, the doc said she was in the 66 percentile of growth. Since I don’t know exactly what that means, I asked for the estimated weight and the number was three pounds and 6 ounces. Amelia was six pounds and 14 ounces when she was born. I have a feeling this one will be bigger than Amelia when she arrives.

Given the diabetes, I am going to be induced. Greg and I have been mulling over when we want to be induced. Basically, before or after Christmas. The earliest they could induce me is on Dec. 20 (when I reach 38 weeks). After much thought, I’ve decided that I want to be induced on 12/20. I went into labor with Amelia when I was 38w1d,  and she came out perfectly healthy, so the gestational age isn’t a concern. I choose this date because Amelia will be home from school and will be able to spend as much time, uninterrupted, with the baby girl and adjust to the new life with us and not impact her school routine. Greg, initially, wanted to wait until after Christmas but my logic won that argument.

We have a name chosen. And, everyone likes it. I’m haven’t officially announced the name; just shared it with close friends and family (and I haven’t shared it on Facebook!).

I am still (slightly) in disbelief that I am as far along as I am. There’s roughly less than 7 weeks to go before baby girl is here. This summer has flown by!

Oh, and I forgot to mention! My cousin April is pregnant again! She’s due in April and will find out what she’s having on 11/12. We’re all hoping she’s having the boy she’s been wanting (she has 2 girls). So, once again, April and I will have kids close in age. Amelia and Olivia are roughly 6 months apart in age, and these two will be roughly 4 months apart. It’s going to be an exciting 2013!

Today was an exciting day. We got our stroller/carseat travel system. It was a gift from my friend Lisa. Last month, Greg and I went to Babies R Us to look at the travel systems. Greg was originally dead set on a Graco, however he fell in love with Chicco. Despite the cost difference between Graco and Chicco, we added the Chicco to our baby registry. What really sold Greg was the adjustable push bar as it made it a lot more comfortable for him to push the stroller.

We initially picked out the plum colored stroller and when we went back to Babies R Us to purchase it, they didn’t have any in stock (aside from the floor model). So, the store checked their inventory and told us there was one available at the Babies R Us in Columbia, MD. We headed over there and it was a lie. The “one” they had in stock was only the floor model. So, Greg and I decided to just pick a different color and the only other choices were Azul (blue) or Martini (pictured below). In addition, the person assisting us gave us a ‘coupon’ for 20% off which saved us roughly $75.

Leave a Reply

