11 Days and Counting

I can’t believe there are only 11 days until Baby Girl arrives.

But first, let’s do the survey…

How far along:  36 weeks and 3 days

How big is baby:  The size of a coconut

Total weight gain:  30 pounds

Maternity clothes:  could use them, but I refuse to buy anything else at this time.

Sleep:  It’s getting better, but still interrupted

Best moment of the week:  Weekly scan on Monday

Food cravings:  BBQ Frito’s

Food aversions:  Still poultry

Symptoms:  BH Contractions, sleepiness, frequent need to pee

Movement: Lots. Earlier this evening the baby had the hiccups, which is interesting to feel.

Gender:  Still a girl

What I’m looking forward to:  Ultrasounds and, eventually, “D-Day” (to be referred to as “Delivery Day”

What I miss:  Sleep.

Next appt:  I have 3 a week now, ugh.

This week Greg has been super busy with getting the house ready for Baby Girl. He’s gotten the crib and changing table assembled and placed in our bedroom (I’ve decided to have Baby Girl sleep in our room until she’s sleeping through the night, then we’ll move her into Amelia’s bedroom). In addition to all the furniture building (I should also mention the new dresser for Amelia, new TV stand to go with our new TV, and other little items – Ikea probably enjoyed our 2 trips in 2 weeks), Greg has also started to do some deep cleaning… as in going through all our clothes and items in the closets to donate the items we no longer use or wear. We need to make room for all the baby ‘stuff’ that we will accumulate.

On Monday (12/3) I learned Baby Girl flipped from her transverse position to… breech.  In other words, she flipped the wrong way. Figures. Baby Girl has been very stubborn and difficult the farther along the pregnancy progressed. She definitely makes everyone work for their money. Especially for the NST appointments.

It’s hard to believe that there’s only 11 days to go before Baby Girl is here. One more weekend as a family of three. I’m excited to have a new baby to snuggle and love upon, but also a little nervous. It’s been nearly 6 years since we’ve taken care of something so small and fragile. In addition, I’m a little (well, a lot) nervous about the c-section. I didn’t have a c-section with Amelia so this will be all new for me. I’m afraid of how the healing process will be (and hoping it won’t be as worse as I’m anticipating). On the plus side to the c-section, I’ll get an extra two weeks of ‘maternity leave’ (the company doesn’t offer maternity leave, per se, but rather  it’s called short term disability).

There are two questions that I am constantly asked: “How are you feeling?” and “Is Amelia excited?” My responses are “Tired and done” and “Beyond words” respectively. Amelia is over the moon excited. When she and I are out and about, she will tell anyone that will listen that she’s going to be a big sister and that I have a baby growing in my belly, which makes me feel a little awkward.

Speaking of Amelia, she’s doing very well in school. Greg had to attend the parent-teacher meeting alone since I have appointments every Monday, and reported that Amelia is academically advanced, but has some behavioral things to work on (paying attention and staying focused and on task mainly). The teacher said Amelia is given a separate set of vocabulary words and math assignments to work on… assignments that are usually given towards the end of the school year. Learning this, obviously, made me feel proud.

The business that Greg and I have created is doing well. We had a very successful (profitable) November. So much so we were able to upgrade my old Canon camera, an Rebel XTi, to a Canon 7D. The 7D isn’t the newest camera on the market, but it’s a significant upgrade from the XTi. While Greg was liking the 7D for its upgrade (processor, etc), I am liking it for the ability to record video’s. And, I was hoping we’d be able to get this camera before Baby Girl arrived.

So, this will be the last full week of work for me. Unless the docs say otherwise, I’ll work up until delivery day, which makes 12/19 my last day. If I only took 8 weeks of leave, I would be due back to work 2/18 but I am thinking of taking 10 weeks. I haven’t made up my mind and I need to talk to the boss too.

 

Leave a Reply

